Wednesday, 30 November 2016

Doisy & Dam Lemon, Poppy Seed & Baobab White Chocolate


I love trying new chocolate bars, especially if they are white chocolate, so I couldn't resist buying this Doisy & Dam "lemon, poppyseed and baobab" bar when I spotted it in a mini M&S recently. The only downside? It was around £2 for a 40g bar! One day my curiosity will make me a very broke man...


Perhaps explaining the price is the fact that all Doisy & Dam bars are handmade in Norfolk using all organic ingredients. Respect for that. This one in particularly is gluten free and suitable for vegetarians.


I love a good quality white chocolate, moreso when it has lemon in it, but I haven't had one with poppy seeds in since trying Seed & Bean's Lemon & Poppyseed White Chocolate many years ago. So I was rather excited at the prospect of trying it once again!


The bar is small and chunky, with the aroma of a good quality white chocolate and hints of lemon. I took a bite; it melts in the mouth at the perfect rate, it's smooth and creamy and not overly sweet or milky. The poppy seeds add a slightly nutty crunch, which compliments the subtle lemon flavour. It's rather cheesecake-like. I wasn't sure I could taste the baobab, there's an extra fruity earthy flavour in there too so maybe that was it. This is definitely a very yummy bar and tastes excellent quality.

Overall, as good as this bar is, the price is still too high for me for it to become a regular purchase. If it were a larger bar I might be happier to pay for it. I do understand though that when buying organic, you're going to pay a higher price so I can't really fault Doisy & Dam on that one. I will buy more of their bars again if I see the other flavours in shops.

8 out of 10.

Tuesday, 29 November 2016

Green & Blacks THIN Anglesey Sea Salt Dark Chocolate

Green & Blacks THIN Anglesey Sea Salt

I must be honest, I've never much seen the point of this THIN range from Green & Blacks. Their chocolate is already rather thin anyway, all they have done here is made the blocks thinner and flatter, so they're similar to Lindt bars. Maybe that's the idea. Either way, I rarely buy them, although the Salted Caramel variety is pretty tasty I must say.

Green & Blacks THIN Anglesey Sea Salt

However I'm always game to try a new product, so when I saw this new Anglesey Sea Salt Dark Chocolate variety recently in Sainsbury's, straight into my basket it went! This contains "organic crunchy dark chocolate with sea salt from the Anglesey Coast", contains 60% cocoa solids and is suitable for vegetarians. It also appears to be gluten free and suitable for vegans although it "may contain milk".

Green & Blacks THIN Anglesey Sea Salt

I'm not sure what I was expecting from this, but I don't think the flavours worked that well. I normally like a lick of salt when it's paired with intense sweetness, such as with salted caramel, but here it only has the cocoa and a low sugar content to offset it, so it ends up tasting more of salt and earthy flavours. If you like that sort of thing that's great, but I'd have preferred the flavour paired with a richer, more flavoursome chocolate if I wanted salt with dark chocolate at all. This is an ok bar but it doesn't stand out as something to try again, especially when G&B already make a Salted Caramel variety.

Overall, if you like salty chocolate this is worth a try, but it's not one I would buy again.

7 out of 10.

Monday, 28 November 2016

Deliciously Ella Energy Balls Review: Hazelnut & Raisin

Deliciously Ella hazelnut raisin energy balls

It's been a while since I tried the Deliciously Ella Ginger Energy Balls, which were nice enough, so I thought I'd try the Hazelnut and Raisin variety next. These are available from Waitrose for a hefty £1.89, although they do sometimes get reduced to half that. They're raw, vegan, vegetarian, gluten free and dairy free, but not nut free. The ingredients consist of dates, hazelnuts, raisins, cacao, cinnamon and cardamom.

Deliciously Ella hazelnut raisin energy balls

Opening the wrapper revealed a hefty...er...mound, on a cardboard sleeve. It looked somewhat like Christmas pudding, which is quite fitting since it also tastes like it.

Deliciously Ella hazelnut raisin energy balls

The ball was dense and chewy, firmer than a Nakd Bar, with crunchy hazelnuts studded throughout. And it tasted delicious! The hazelnut flavour was very noticeable as was the cinnamon and cardamom, making it taste a lot like Christmas Pudding indeed. More so than Nakd's Christmas Pudding bars, in fact.

Deliciously Ella hazelnut raisin energy balls

I thoroughly enjoyed this and I like that it's a bit different from the usual dates and cashews combo of most energy bars. The spices really lift it and make it very unique and tasty.

Overall, I do still think these Deliciously Ella Energy Balls are overpriced, but they are pretty decent snacks if you like clean ingredients. I really do think they should consider making something a bit more affordable though if they want to compete with brands like Nakd.

8 out of 10.

Sunday, 27 November 2016

Haribo Little Cupcakes

haribo little cupcakes

These Haribo Little Cupcakes have been sat there on the shelf in Tesco for a while now, annoyingly calling me to try them. Don't they know I already consume enough sugar to feed a small army?!

I finally plopped them in my basket, in need of some weekend sweets. They cost 98p or so, are not suitable for vegetarians and implore you to "create your own delicious cupcake creations with a caramel or lemon biscuit base, finishing it off with either a blueberry, orange, lemon, cherry, vanilla or strawberry topping".

haribo little cupcakes

Annoyingly, there were no strawberry toppings in my bag, boo! There also seemed to be an over-abundance of biscuit bases to toppings.

haribo little cupcakes

I do love the idea of these I have to say. It's a lot of fun creating your own flavour combinations, and how cute do they look?

haribo little cupcakes

The caramel biscuit bases had a strong sweet caramel flavour, with definite hints of biscuit, and they went perfectly with all the toppings I tried. The blueberry in particular was very tasty, as was vanilla and cherry. The lemon biscuit bases were nice and even had a hint of ginger thrown in, but I didn't like them as much as the caramel; the citrusy flavour doesn't work so well. Nevertheless these are all highly moreish and addictive, whichever flavour combo you go for.

haribo little cupcakes

Overall, I have to say these are a fantastic concept from Haribo and make for a lot of fun, I imagine kids and big kids alike will love them. They would also make a perfect Christmas stocking filler!

Nutrition Information (per 100g): 355 Calories, 0.5g Fat, 84g Carbohydrates, 64g Sugars, 4.3g Protein.

Ingredients: Sugar, glucose syrup, glucose-fructose syrup, gelatine, dextrose, caramelised sugar syrup, fruit and plant concentrates, flavouring, citric acid, invert sugar syrup, beeswax, carnauba wax. 

Available from: Asda, Tesco, Superdrug.

9 out of 10.

Saturday, 26 November 2016

Tyrrell's My Sweet Potato Sea Salted Crisps

tyrrells my sweet potato

Sweet Potato is one of the latest health trends to become mainstream, there's sweet potato versions of many classic potato products now, from baked sweet potatoes, sweet potato fries, sweet potato mash, and a lot more besides. But now they're also invading the crisps world, with Tyrrell's launching their version called "my sweet potato". Cute!

I chose the Lightly Salted variety in Morrisons recently, which cost £1.50 on special offer and is free from additives, gluten free and suitable for vegans and vegetarians. In fact unless you're allergic to sweet potato, sunflower oil or sea salt there's no allergens at all!

tyrrells my sweet potato
These are for you my sweet potato...
To fit the "my sweet potato" theme, there's some comedic messages on the pack from a husband to his wife:

tyrrells my sweet potato
Hope you're not saying I'm a knobbly old thing...
There's even a poem: "My darling, my sweet, with your striking orange complexion, like sunshine through Autumn leaves, or a make-up lady at a department store, you may be simple and rotund, but by golly you're tasty".

Whilst that's a bit of a sexist and backhanded compliment, it does fit the description of these crisps quite well...they're certainly very orange!

tyrrells my sweet potato

They tasted pretty good, very crunchy and with a nice sweet earthy edge that makes a change from regular potato crisps. As I got to the bottom of the bag though, some crisps were rather burnt and not as pleasant. I don't know if they're the burnt broken bits you usually get when frying, but they did spoil what was otherwise a tasty bag of crisps.

Overall, burnt ones aside, these are some pretty tasty crisps from Tyrrell's. If sweet potato is your thing for either taste or health benefits, you can't go wrong with a pack. Get yourself to Morrisons now while they're still on offer! Also available in Sweet Chilli and Coconut and Lime flavours.

Nutrition Information (per 31g): 164 Calories, 10.5g Fat, 14.9g Carbohydrate, 4.9g Sugars, 1.2g Protein.

8 out of 10.

Friday, 25 November 2016

Daim Orange Minis Limited Edition

daim orange minis limited edition

Whilst in Poundstretcher recently I couldn't help but notice a plethora of imported chocolates, from the likes of Marabou with Oreo, Marabou with Saltlakrits (Salty Liquorice) and these...Limited Edition Orange flavour Daim Minis. They were £2.99 a bag which I felt was a bit pricey, but I caved in and got them anyway. I had to...they're a limited edition!

daim orange minis limited edition

Mondelez have had a track record for messing up some of our beloved UK products, but thankfully it seems their meddling hasn't extended to their classic Swedish brand Daim (yet!). These bars contain 30% cocoa chocolate, and are described as "smooth orange flavoured milk chocolates with a surprisingly crunchy almond centre". They're suitable for vegetarians and gluten free.

daim orange minis limited edition

They tasted like the offspring of a Terry's Chocolate Orange and a Daim Bar...which is a good thing! The chocolate is pretty much the exact same sweet, orangey flavour as Chocolate Orange (before they made the recipe waxy, anyway!), whilst the crunchy caramel has the same buttery, super sweet and slightly nutty flavour. These were a bit of a sugar overkill after eating a few - I started to feel myself becoming diabetic so I had to stop, as moreish as they are!

daim orange minis limited edition

Overall, these are a fantastic limited edition flavour of Daim and if you love orange flavoured chocolate you simply have to try them! They're not weakly flavoured or a gimmick, which makes a nice change. I imagine they'd go down particularly well over the festive season. What are you waiting for? Get down to Poundstretcher pronto and buy a bag! (They're apparently also available in Ikea).

9 out of 10.

Thursday, 24 November 2016

Fruit Salad & Refreshers Softies Review


I was recently sent a snacks hamper from Candyland, who now make Fruit Salad and Black Jacks sweets, amongst others. There were too many goodies to review all at once so I'm starting with some newbies on the gummy sweet scene; Refreshers and Fruit Salad Softies. Both of these sweets as well as Black Jacks were favorites of mine as a child, so I was very interested to see what they would taste like in gummy form.

Fruit Salad Softies:

Starting with the ones I was most excited about, these are described as "Raspberry and Pineapple, Apple and Blackcurrant soft gums". Not suitable for vegetarians.


They tasted pretty darn good! The chewy texture was spot on, not too sticky or too hard, they were somewhere in between mallow like and gummy like. They had the classic Fruit Salad flavour we all remember from childhood, which was very comforting and unmistakable even in this different form. I would most definitely buy these again! 9 out of 10.

Refreshers Softies:

Described as "fizzy fruit flavour soft gums". Not suitable for vegetarians.


I used to enjoy a pack or two of Refreshers as a kid, they had that lovely sour fruity sherbet like kick we all know and love. But in this soft gum form they're an entirely different beast...the gums are coated in sour sugar, which is overkill to be honest, they really don't need it and it takes them too far away from what Refershers should taste like. They were very sweet and quite sickly, and hurt my teeth after a handful. The flavours had a nice sour kick, but overall these don't much resemble the Refershers I used to love. I'm sure kids will enjoy them but they were too much for me. 6.5 out of 10.

Overall, it seems these new Softies versions of classic sweets are both successes and fails. Whilst the Fruit Salad ones were delicious, the Refreshers weren't so great. These join the likes of Wham and other sweets currently being converted into gummy form. I'm just puzzled why they haven't done a Black Jacks version; now that would be amazing!

Wednesday, 23 November 2016

Tyrrell's Poshcorn Bellini Cocktail

tyrrells poshcorn bellini cocktail

When I was informed via Instagram about this new variety of Tyrrell's Poshcorn recently, I just had to try it (I'm like that with new snacks haha!) so I hotfooted it down to WH Smiths. It costs £1 a bag and is gluten free, and also suitable for vegetarians and vegans.

tyrrells poshcorn bellini cocktail

Alcoholic flavoured snacks seem to be the "in thing" at the moment, what with M&S doing Bucks Fizz flavoured crisps (review due shortly!), Aldi doing Gin & Tonic crisps, and not to mention the various mojito inspired popcorn varieties. So how does Tyrrell's fare?

The popcorn is described as tasting of "peachy fizz", which is what a Bellini Cocktail tastes like. Apparently. I wouldn't know as I'm not really a cocktail man!

tyrrells poshcorn bellini cocktail

I poured the whole bag into a bowl, knowing that most of the flavour usually resides at the bottom. The popcorn definitely had a fizzy taste, almost like sherbet, but there was also an odd vinegary tang to it. I have no idea if this is what a Bellini cocktail is supposed to taste of, but I wasn't a fan of it. Looking at the ingredients, the flavouring contains dried peach juice, as well as dried white wine and dried chardonnay vinegar. Aha - that's where the weird sharp flavour is coming from!  Why they've included vinegar in a sweet popcorn is beyond me...maybe that's how cocktails roll?

Overall, I'm glad I tried this, it was an interesting experience but this is not a popcorn I will be buying again. If you're a fan of unusual popcorns though, this might be your bag!

7 out of 10.

Tuesday, 22 November 2016

Cadbury Dairy Milk Freddo Faces Dessert

cadbury dairy milk freddo faces dessert

These "limited edition" Freddo Faces desserts have been out for quite some time now, so I'm not sure what makes them so limited, but nevertheless I thought I'd give one a try whilst in my local Tesco express recently.

cadbury dairy milk freddo faces dessert

It's basically like a muller corner, but with chocolate dessert on one side and some Cadbury Freddo faces on the other.

cadbury dairy milk freddo faces dessert

Mixing them in, they looked like frogs that had got stuck in mud! I think pigs would have been a more appropriate shape...maybe Cadbury should create a new product called Piggies? Or Buttys? Just a thought!

cadbury dairy milk freddo faces dessert

The dessert was pretty decent; creamy and chocolatey, whilst the Freddos were quite chunky and didn't really mix well with it to be honest. This is a nice idea on paper but it doesn't quite work so well in practice. I think caramel Freddos would be a better option, although I guess Cadbury don't make caramel Freddo Faces.

Overall, this is a bit of an uninspired dessert and Cadbury's make others that are much better, so I'd stick with those instead.

7 out of 10.

Monday, 21 November 2016

Nutri-Bombz Snacks Box Review

nutri bombz snack box

When offered to try this new #fitfam friendly gluten free snacks box from Nutri Bombz recently, I really couldn't say no. It's a favourite of premiership footballers, professional athletes and celebrity trainers, so I felt very special indeed receiving this!

nutri bombz

The boxes are designed to fit neatly through your letterbox, are biodegradable and can even be sent to your workplace - handy for keeping on the clean eating train! The box inbcludes healthy gluten-free snacks that provide energy and protein, whether you need a post-workout snack or an energy boost in general.

nutri bombz salted caramel protein bombz

Salted Caramel Protein Bombz - these are the ones I went for immediately, because who doesn't love something caramel flavoured? They're made with a mixture of dates, whey, coconut oil, cacao and chia seeds. They were pretty chewy and dense but with a gorgeous salted caramel flavour that made them very moreish! The chia seeds added a little bit of crunch but otherwise this was a pretty dense and chewy snack. 8 out of 10.

Toffee Apple Nutri Bitz:

I was sent this box over the Bonfire weekend so I figure this flavour was specially selected for that particular edition of Nutri Bombz. These consist of dates, whey powder, soya protein, brown rice protein, coconut oil, dried apple, cacao and natural flavourings. And they were mightily moreish! I literally couldn't stop scoffing them once I started...the toffee apple flavour was very yummy and actually tasted of both toffee and apple, in equal measure. 8 out of 10.

Raspberry Nutri Bitz:

These were just as moreish as the Toffee Apple variety, but with a much fruitier sweeter edge that was very refreshing. Again, these were extremely tasty and I had trouble stopping eating them! 8 out of 10.


There were also some Coconut Flapjack pieces in the box, which unfortunately I couldn't eat due to my oat sensitivity. I've heard they're really tasty though!

Overall, I can see why Nutri Bombz are wooing the celebrity fitness crowd, the snacks on offer here tick all the boxes of being tasty, healthy, and with minimally processed clean ingredients. If I saw any of these particular snacks in shops I wouldn't hesitate to buy them individually, although snacks boxes aren't my thing.

If snacks boxes are your thing though, you can check out the Nutri Bombz website - they have a lot of information on macros and ingredients, and you can select your ideal range of snacks for delivery.

Sunday, 20 November 2016

Kettle Veg Chips: Salted, Honey & Black Pepper, Balsamic Vinegar

kettle veg chips

Now that Summer is over, Kettle Chips are here to save the day with warming earthy flavours perfect for autumn snacking, with their revamped Veg Chips range. Joining the existing flavour "Lightly Salted" is "Honey and Black Pepper" and "Sea Salt and Balsamic Vinegar", all made with crunchy parsnip, sweet potato and beetroot chips. All varieties are suitable for vegetarians and free of artificial ingredients.

kettle veg chips lightly salted

As I've never tried any of these before I began with the original variety: Lightly Salted. These turned out to be some very moreish and flavoursome crisps, with definite warming earthy flavours from the parsnip and beetroot. They were very addictive but felt more satisfying than regular potato chips, thanks to the more wholesome flavours on offer.

kettle veg chips honey and black pepper

The Honey and Black Pepper variety were similar but with a honey twist, this enhanced the earthy flavours perfectly with the pepper bringing a nice warming spicy kick. Very moreish!

kettle veg chips honey black pepper

The balsamic vinegar variety brought a whole different flavour edge to the chips, with that unmistakable sharpness of balsamic vinegar, that somehow made the chips even more moreish than the regular varieties. It's a combination that works really well.

kettle veg chips balsamic vinegar

Overall, I have to say this is a great range from Kettle Chips and these are the perfect flavours for autumn and winter snacks. I'm sure they'd go down a storm over the festive season too!

Available from Sainsbury's and Waitrose.

8.5 out of 10.

Friday, 18 November 2016

Good 4U Super Bites Banana & Cocoa

good 4u superbites banana cocoa

Since joining the gym (not that I'm bragging) I've found myself in need of more #fitfam friendly snacks, and one that caught my eye whilst in Asda recently were these Good 4U Super Bites that I've never tried before. My blogger pal Reaching For Refreshment reviewed the Orange & Cocoa and Coconut ones way back and wasn't a fan, but I've never been one to let that stop me...so into my basket they went!

good 4u superbites banana cocoa

These cost 85p for 40g which isn't too bad compared to similar products like this. They're raw, vegan, vegetarian, gluten free and contain no added sugars. They're also nut and legume free, and are made with a mixture of sunflower seeds, dates, raisins, chia seeds, cocoa powder, inulin, banana, rice flour and bizarrely, red algae seaweed (?!) Must be the super food aspect!

Opening the bag they had a lovely fruity banana aroma, that for some reason reminded me of bubblegum. I was intrigued!

good 4u superbites banana cocoa

The bites are a nice size to nibble on and I didn't hesitate in going stuck in. They tasted lovely; moist and chewy, a bit like Nakd Posh Bits but even softer, with the fruity banana flavour making them very moreish. I don't know why but it really reminded me of bubblegum flavouring. The lack of nuts was a welcome change and made these softer and easier to eat. I soon demolished the whole bag!

Overall, these are some pretty tasty snacks from Good 4U and I think it's a shame they're not as popular as Nakd Posh Bits. They're a great nut free alternative and pretty darn tasty to boot! Now, dare I try the Cocoa & Orange and Coconut varieties...?

Nutrition (per 40g): 153 Calories, 6.1g Fat, 18.7g Carbohydrates, 9.4g Sugars, 4.3g Protein.

8.5 out of 10.