Monday, 2 March 2015

Cadbury Dairy Milk Marvellous Ice Creams: Fairground Candy Crunch


Recently, Cadbury announced the launch of their new "Marvellous Ice Creams" range, which includes 4 flavours: Zingy Raspberry Choc Brownie, Fairground Candy Crunch, Jelly Popping Candy and Salted Caramel & Sour Cherry. So far I've tried two of the flavours and my first review is for Fairground Candy Crunch.

Fairground Candy Crunch is an evocative name, it conjured up images of candyfloss and helter skelters in my mind, so I was very excited to try this. I know...I'm such a sucker for marketing! The ice cream is described as "Candyfloss and chocolate flavour ice creams, swirled with milk chocolate, pink sugar crunch, sugar coated jelly pieces and mini marshmallows".


Opening the tub reveled the two ice creams swirled together, with plenty of pink sugar sprinkles and jelly pieces embedded within.


The taste was interesting. The candyfloss ice cream had a strong candyfloss flavour - very sweet and almost floral. The chocolate ice cream was rather plain in comparison, but nice enough. The pink sugar crunch added a nice...er...crunch, and the jelly pieces added a fruity chewiness. The mini marshmallows were pleasant but I didn't think they worked so well with the cold ice cream.

Solid Dairy Milk "swirl"
The most interesting part of this ice cream was the swirl of chocolate...it was actually solid Dairy Milk in a kind of "lump" in the centre of the tub, and difficult to eat since it was frozen. I waited until most of the ice cream had melted before attempting to chip bits off. It was very tasty - regular Dairy Milk chocolate with its distinctive, comforting flavour.

Overall, although not perfect this was still a very tasty and unique ice cream from Cadbury's. It offers something genuinely different to similar ice creams from Ben and Jerry's, and although it's not as good in quality, it will please those who like different tastes and texture in one ice cream.

Stay tuned for a review of the Jelly Popping Candy variety soon...!

RATING: 7.5 out of 10. 

Price: £2.99 in local newsagent.
Suitable for vegetarians?: No - contains gelatine.
Allergy Information: Contains milk, may contain nuts.
Nutrition (per 100ml): 210 Calories, 9.1g Fat, 29.2g Carbs, 24.7g Sugars.

Sunday, 1 March 2015

Nestlé Rolo Dark Chocolate (Sainsbury's) Review


Nestlé UK have been quietly releasing new variations of their classic products over the last year or so...we've had Toffee Crisp in Sharing Block format, a new Milkybar with added Cookies, White Aero's, Toffee Kitkats, Caramel Kitkats, Honeycomb Toffee Crisps, and now these...Dark Rolos.

Although these are called "Dark", they contain only 45% cocoa solids, which I guess is about as "dark" as a mass produced chocolate like this is going to get.


To be honest, if I was given these in a blind taste test I don't think I would have been able to tell they were dark chocolate. They tasted pretty similar to regular Rolos, although maybe a tad less milky. They were still extremely sweet and moreish, with the classic sweet toffee centres making me reach for one too many. Before I knew it half the bag had gone....oops!

Overall, although these are not truly dark chocolate and won't impress chocolate conoissours, they're a very moreish snack and presumably less sugary than regular Rolos, so if you're concerned with sugar intake I suppose these have a place in the chocolate world. I doubt they will stick around, but kudos to Nestlé for trying new variations. I think white chocolate Rolos would've been a better option though to be honest!

RATING: 7 out of 10. 

Price: £1.50 at Sainsbury's.
Suitable for vegetarians?: Yes.
Allergy Information: Contains milk, may contain traces of wheat gluten.
Nutrition (5 sweets): 126 Calories, 5.8g Fat, 17.1g Carbs, 14.2g Sugars.

Saturday, 28 February 2015

Roots Hand Cooked Vegetable Crisps Review


When Roots contacted me to review their Hand Cooked Vegetable Crisps recently I couldn't say no... I'm always on the lookout for healthier snacking alternatives and have never actually tried vegetable crisps before. Initially I wasn't sure the idea would work...after all aren't vegetables supposed to be a lump of mush served next to your Sunday dinner, rather than a tasty snack?! Well actually no... turns out they can be both!

"Made using carrots, parsnips and beetroot, our vegetables are thinly sliced and cooked by hand in pure sunflower oil for a super-crunchy texture, before being lightly seasoned with sea salt. No artificial colourings, flavourings, preservatives or other additives are used."

- Roots Crisps Press Release.


The crisps were very tasty indeed, with a lighter, crunchier edge compared to regular crisps. Very flavoursome. They're not as full on as the likes of Kettle Chips which is actually a bonus - as much as I love Kettle Chips they can be a bit much sometimes! These had lots of subtle, sweet flavours from the beetroot and parsnip, which worked very well together.Very tasty indeed!

Roots Crisps are available from their website HERE.

RATING: 8 out of 10. 

*Product provided for honest review.

Friday, 27 February 2015

Nestlé Toffee Crisp Honeycomb (Limited Edition)


Nestlé UK recently announced the launch of a Honeycomb Toffee Crisp for a limited period, and by chance I just so happened to spot them on the same day in a local Premier store. They're currently on offer of 2 for £1 alongside regular Toffee Crisps.

The bar weighs 38g which doesn't seem a lot - I'm not sure how much a regular Toffee Crisp weighs these days but it seems pretty light to me. The description reads "Toffee (18%), honeycomb pieces (4%) and crisped cereal (6%) filled milk chocolate".


Opening the wrapper there was a very pleasant, sweet honeycomb aroma, although the bar did look a bit thinner to how I remember Toffee Crisp. Cutting it open revealed the caramel, honeycomb and rice crisps:


Biting into a piece gave a nice crunch of golden honeycomb, offset by the chewy caramel and crispy rice bits. It all tasted very sweet and sickly, but very crunchy and delicious! The texture of the honeycomb made it a lot crunchier than a regular Toffee Crisp which made for a nice change and it felt quite satisfying, despite the small size of the bar.

Overall, although I'm not sure I'd buy one of these again, it's nice to see Nestlé bring some variation to one of their brands...I don't think there's been a different Toffee Crisp variety in years. In fact a little research reveals the last variety they did was a Coconut version!:


(image courtesy of chocolatereview.co.uk)

RATING: 7.5 out of 10.

Price: 2 for £1 at Premier Stores.
Allergy Information: Contains Wheat, Dairy.
Nutrition (per bar): 197 Calories, 10.5g Fat, 24.1g Carbs.

Have you tried Toffee Crisp Honeycomb? If so what did you think? 

Wednesday, 25 February 2015

Magnum PINK Raspberry Review


The Silver Marc De Champagne Magnum's brought out by Uniliver a year ago are consistently amongst the highest viewed posts on this blog - they must be really popular across the world - so I thought it about time I gave these new PINK ones a try since they're currently being highly promoted across most UK supermarkets.

Unilever obviously think the "coloured shell" idea is one that's catching, as they've already done a Gold?! variety which is also still on shelves. There's also a BLACK Espresso variety, but that's just dark chocolate and doesn't make for an exciting colour like pink does...you can just tell these are going to be really popular this year, especially over the Summer months!


Whilst the pearly pink coating is very eye-catching, the flavour is a basic raspberry ice cream with strands of raspberry sauce. It's all coated in milk chocolate and then coated again with the outer pink glaze. The taste is very pleasant and fruity, although considering the novel colour I thought they would have had a much stronger raspberry taste.


Overall, a nice ice cream for sure and one that no doubt many of us will be reaching for over Summer if just for the bright colour...but these could have been better. I actually think a strawberry flavour (or even passionfruit!) would have been nicer, but hey that's just me!

RATING: 7.5 out of 10.

Nutrition Per Ice Cream: 276 Calories, 18g Fat, 26g Carbs, 24g Sugars.
Gluten Free, May contain nuts & sesame. 

Have you tried Magnum PINK Raspberry? If so what did you think? 

Tuesday, 24 February 2015

Tropical Sun Coconut Peanuts, Cream, Milk & Water Review


Many thanks to Tropical Sun for sending me a selection of their coconut products to review recently! As readers of this blog will know I'm a big fan of coconut...I looove coconut butter and regularly use it to make desserts - anything coconut-based and I'm there!

What intrigued me most about these snacks was the combination of coconut and peanuts - it's certainly not a flavour you'll see amongst your average pub peanuts!

Premium Creamed Coconut:

Boasting no artificial colours or preservatives, this is pure coconut cream formed into a block and great for cooking. I don't have any pics of my culinary creations sadly (they tend to get very messy!) but I can report that it made a lovely rich curry! Just melt the block with hot water, add spices, veg etc and it will make a very creamy sauce - much nicer and healthier than vegetable oils often used in curries. Coconut milk is also a source of MCT's (medium chain fats), that get used up by the body much faster than other fats.

100% Natural Coconut Milk:

Again, boasting no artificial colours or additives, this coconut milk makes a change from most store varieties as it doesn't contain any thickeners or e-numbers. Just pure coconut extract and water! I ended up using this to make a coconut milk hot chocolate - just cocoa powder and coconut milk, heated in the microwave for a few minutes. It made a delicious and satisfying cocoa! I would highly recommend it.

Coconut Water:

No artificial flavours or additives here either; this is a lovely refreshing coconut water containing naturally occuring electrolytes. This was a very pleasant thirst-quenching drink.

Crunchy Coconut Peanuts:

Last but not least...the star of the show...coconut peanuts! This is an interesting combination in that peanuts are usually associated with savoury flavours like salt, pepper, spices, etc., but the coconut cream here makes them sweeter and creamier and a bit less savoury. They're still very crunchy and highly moreish, with a softer edge. I'm not sure they'd work with beer but they're certainly a great snack for watching a film with - highly recommended!

Overall:
This is a selection of great quality products from Tropical Sun, the peanuts in particular are such a cool novelty that I would highly recommend trying them if you get the chance! You can check out tropicalsunfoods.com for more info/buying options.

*Products provided for honest review. 

Monday, 23 February 2015

New Snacks! - Kinder Bueno DARK, Walkers Mixups, Hoola Hoops Puft, Thorntons Popcorn..

A few new snacks I've seen in shops recently...

Kinder Bueno DARK (Limited Edition)

These new dark chocolate Kinder Bueno's seem to be a very limited edition - I've only seen them in one Spar store so far. If you've tried one do let me know your thoughts in the comments...

Walkers Mixups Snacks Mix:

Walkers are taking a leaf out of Cadbury's book and combining several different snacks in one bag for their new "Mixups" range. This cheese variety contains Wotsits, Doritos, Monster Munch and French Fries. Spotted at Asda.

There's also a Spicy variety...


Plus a Crisps Mix, with both Cheese and Worcester Sauce Walkers crisps...


Plus Cheese & Bacon flavour...


Hula Hoops Puft Cheese:

Also new in the savoury snacks category are Hoola Hoops Puft, which are a "light and crispy" take on the famous hoop-shaped snacks. I'm not sure about the name...


Of course, they wouldn't be complete without a Salt & Vinegar flavour!


Or Ready Salted!

Thorntons Toffee & White Chocolate Popcorn:

Thorntons have released a new Popcorn range, and this flavour contains their signature toffee combined with white chocolate.


There's also a Toffee & Milk Chocolate variety...


As well as plain Toffee. Have you tried Thorntons Popcorn range? If so let me know your thoughts in the comments! Available at Asda.

The Chocolate Smiths Bizarre Coffee 'n' Cookie Bar:

Whilst in a local department store I spotted this new bar from The Chocolate Smiths...70% dark chocolate with cookies, coffee and orange flavours. Interesting combo!

Steak & Stout in Milk Chocolate:

They're also doing this odd combo of "Steak and Stout" in milk chocolate. I'm not sure if it actually contains steak and/or stout, but knowing those crazy gals it probably does!

Strawberry Champagne in Milk Chocolate:

They're also doing a Queen of Hearts variety, which contains the more palatable combination of Strawberry and Champagne in milk chocolate.

Chip Shop Sauce & Chips in Milk Chocolate:

There's also this Chip Shop Special flavour containing "chip shop style curry sauce and chips in milk chocolate". Possibly a good combination for pregnant women?

Smoked Garlic & Herb in Milk Chocolate:

And what has to be one of the worst ideas for a chocolate bar ever..."smoked garlic and herb in creamy milk chocolate".

Tropical Fruit Punch Chocolate:

And lastly, a more palatable sounding "70% dark chocolate with rum and chunks of sweet tropical fruit". You have to hand it to The Chocolate Smiths...they do like to try out some interesting flavours!

That's it for now...as always do let me know if you spot any new sweets via Twitter or Email, and hopefully I'll be back to the world of blogging in the near future!