Tuesday, 28 May 2013

Maynards Sour Patch Kids Soda Popz Review

mondelez sour then sweet fizzy

Whilst shopping in Morrisons recently I found these Sour Patch Kids Soda Popz on an Introductory Offer for £1.50. Being a fan of the original Maynards Sour Patch Kids (and a lifelong fan of Maynards sweets in general), I had to give them a try.

The concept of these is simple but exciting - they're different "pop" flavoured gums which start off sour and turn sweet. The sourness presumably comes from the malic acid sugar coating.

sour then sweet fizzy sweets

The flavours are Cola, Orangeade, Cherryade, Tropical and Apple Fizz and they're all made with natural colours. Taste-wise they were all very nice, starting off sour as promised and then gradually revealing a fruitier, sweeter side.

The Cola flavour tasted just like fizzy cola bottles - those famous sweets we all remember from childhood. Infact there seemed to be a surplus of Cola as well as Orangeade flavours in the bag. I'm not complaining, but it would've been nice to have more of the other flavours!

The Orangeade flavour was very good and tasted sour and orangey, recreating the flavour of orangeade successfully.

The Apple Fizz flavour was also very good - it tasted refreshing and wasn't too sour like most apple flavoured sweets often are.

The Tropical flavour was interesting - it's coloured pink and tastes of pineapple and grapefruit. It reminded me of Lilt, which I'm guessing is the "soda pop" it's supposed to recreate.

The Cherryade flavour was the only one that let me down - it didn't taste enough like Cherryade and the flavour was weaker than I would have liked.

cola tropical orangeade apple fizz cherryade sour gums
Left to right: Cola, Orangeade, Cherryade, Tropical, Apple Fizz
On the whole though, I think these flavours were very successful and they all fitted with the "Soda Pop" theme nicely. I'm surprised they didn't have a Lemonade flavour though as it's one of the most common "pop" flavours around!

Overall, these are some tasty gummy sweets and a good addition to the UK Sour Patch brand. If you're a fan of Cola Bottles or fizzy sweets like Haribo Tangfastics I would recommend them.

Price: £1.50 for a 160g bag at Morrisons (Introductory Offer).
Ingredients: Not suitable for vegetarians - contains bovine gelatine.
Nutritional information (per 8 sweets): 80 calories, 0.1g fat, 18.8g carbs (14g of which sugars).
Allergy advice: Contains sulphites, may contain wheat.
Random fact!: Sour Patch Kids are apprently Justin Bieber's favourite candy.

Monday, 27 May 2013

Haribo Tangfastics with Watermelon Slices! (Limited Edition)


Whilst browsing my Sainsbury's Local I noticed these Haribo Tangastics with Watermelon Slices on special offer, and since they're limited edition I just had to try them. They're basically regular Haribo Tangfastics with the addition of watermelon flavour jelly slices. For anyone worried they've replaced the sour cherries with watermelon, do not fear, there's still plenty of cherries! The watermelon slices look oddly similar to the cherries though...kind of like a cherry that came out of the machine wrong and ended up stuck together.


Taste-wise they were very nice and had a lovely refreshing sour watermelon flavour. The other Tangfastics flavours were all the same as usual, with cola bottles, jelly dinosaurs, rings, gummy bears and cherries. All of them were very addictive and tasty, although I'm not a big fan of the jelly dinosaurs as I think the white foam part spoils them a bit.


Overall I think these Tangastics with Watermelon Slices are a fantastic idea from Haribo; it's about time they tried some different flavours, and watermelon is a great choice as it's very underused in confectionary. These are a "Flavours of Summer" Limited Edition so be sure to take advantage and stock up on them while you can! They're currently on special offer at Sainsbury's Local, although I'm not sure how long it lasts. They're also available from Poundland.

Price: 72p at Sainsbury's Local (special offer), £1 at Poundland.
Ingredients: Contains gelatine - not suitable for vegetarians
Nutritional information: Per 40g serving - 135 calories, 0.08g fat, 31.3g carbs (24g sugars).

Saturday, 25 May 2013

Sainsbury's Taste the Difference Salted Caramels


Just a quick review for these Sainsbury's Taste the Difference Belgian Salted Caramels Selection, as I'm not sure they are even available to buy anymore. I bought these a while ago when I saw them discounted, and wish I had stocked up because they were absolutely delicious!

I'm always wary of salted caramel as it can sometimes be too salty, but luckily these weren't, they had just the right balance of sweet and salty, and were very delicious.

sainsbury's
Left to right: White choc, Dark choc, Milk choc.
The dark chocolate ones provided a rich chocolate taste which went wonderfully with the sweet and salty caramel; they tasted very luxurious. The milk chocolate ones were also very nice but perhaps not as good as the dark chocolate. And the white chocolate ones were perfect - there was something about the creaminess from the white chocolate which just worked perfectly with the salted caramel.

Overall, these Salted Caramels were amazing and I'm disappointed that they seem to have been discontinued! (I haven't seen them in my local Sainsbury's for a while anyway).

Friday, 24 May 2013

Nestlé Studentská Dark Blackcurrant (Limited Edition)


Here we have the Nestlé Orion Studentská Pecet Dark Blackcurrant. I found this Limited Edition in my local European import store, and there weren't many bars left so I quickly snapped one up . From what I can gather online this bar was only produced for a limited period during 2012, and for 2013 Nestlé are doing a different batch of limited edition Studentská varieties (which I'll be reviewing later).

nestle orion horka rybiz

Orion is a Czech Nestlé brand that apparently has a lot of history behind it. Studentská bars are part of that brand and they come in Milk, Dark, Cherry, and White Chocolate versions (I've reviewed the White Chocolate Studentská here). 

This Limited Edition version consists of dark chocolate, blackcurrant jelly pieces, peanuts and raisins. The blocks are very chunky, and several have the Nestlé "heart" logo going across them:

nestle rybiz horka

I like that it was wrapped in foil and paper rather than plastic like most chocolate bars are these days. It's one of those little things I miss from my childhood, and I'm sure chocolate tastes better when it's foil-wrapped!

nestle orion

The chocolate tasted very sweet and not really like proper "dark" chocolate, more like a basic sweet plain chocolate. Which is fine, because combined with the other ingredients it works. The nuts, raisins and jelly pieces are what really brings this bar alive. The peanuts were fantastic; they had a lovely savoury, almost salty edge to them. Combined with the raisins and dark chocolate they made this a very moreish bar; I couldn't stop eating it even though it's quite a thick slab! The only thing that let it down in my opinion were the blackcurrant jelly pieces - the blackcurrant flavour was a bit odd and didn't really go with the chocolate. Still I'm glad I tried this bar because it's very unique and a change from the norm.

orion nestle horka

I'm gradually becoming a big fan of Nestlé Studentská bars, I love any kind of chocolate with peanuts and fruit in so this is always a winning idea in my book! I've got more Studentská reviews to come so please stay tuned for them!

Price: £2.45.
Found at: European import store.
Made by: Nestle.ch.

Thursday, 23 May 2013

Ion Break - Greek chocolate from Tesco


A hat-tip to Marcus who does the fantastic Choc It Out! video series on Youtube for alerting me to this bar. He found one in Sainsbury's and ever since he mentioned it on Twitter I've been on the lookout for one. Alas, my local Sainsbury's didn't seem to stock them but luckily I found some in the world food's section of Tesco instead.

Ion is a Greek chocolate brand with a range of different bars, but the ones available at Tesco were this Milk Chocolate with raisins, almonds and hazelnuts, as well as a plain Milk Chocolate bar.

This bar comes in a square block similar to Ritter Sport bars, and each chunk has the word "Ion" printed on it. The chocolate smelled very nice when I opened the wrapper - sweet and milky.

tesco greek chocolate

Taste-wise it was nice but nothing groundbreaking. The chocolate was milky and rich but also quite sweet. The raisins were tangy, and the almonds and hazelnuts added a nice crunch. But to be honest I didn't think the chocolate was all that special; it tasted a bit like supermarket own-label chocolate. Which is no bad thing, but it lacks that "je ne sais quai" to make it stand out over other chocolate bars.

greek chocolate tesco

Overall, a nice chocolate bar but unless they bring out other flavours in the UK I'm not sure I would buy one again. It was worth trying the once though and it's certainly not a bad chocolate; it just lacks any truly distinguishing features.

Price: £1 at Tesco.
Ingredients: Contains 10% raisins, 3% almonds & 3% hazelnuts. Cocoa solids: 29% min.
Allergy advice: Contains milk & soya, may contain traces of wheat and other nuts.

Wednesday, 22 May 2013

Peanut Butter M&M's

monster sweets dark mint

A big thankyou to Monster Sweets who sent me these M&M's recently. You can get most of the M&M's range as well as many American and European snacks from their site here:
http://www.monstersweets.co.uk/

I've tried Peanut Butter M&M's in the past, but haven't bought them much since because of the high prices. I wish they were widely available in the UK because I think they taste amazing, the best M&M's I've ever eaten infact. Why these aren't widely available is a big mystery to me. I guess the UK still isn't ready to accept peanut butter as a mainstream flavour like they do in America. Sigh.

These M&M's contain a peanut butter centre coated in milk chocolate and a crunchy coloured shell.

dark mint monster sweets

Taste-wise they were chocolatey, salty, peanutty, crunchy...and very very moreish! The textures and flavours all work perfectly together and I was left wanting more once I had finished the packet.

Overall, these are a great snack which should be made widely available in the UK, preferably in large bags! I'm not usually a fan of M&M's but would buy these regularly if I could.

Luckily they're available from Monster Sweets for £1.25 a bag which is cheaper than most import stores, plus they have other M&M flavours such as Coconut (reviewed here by Grocery Gems), Pretzel, Dark Chocolate and even Almond M&M's!:

http://www.monstersweets.co.uk/mms-17-c.asp

*Monster Sweets sent me these M&M's for an honest review and all views expressed here are my own.

Follow Monster Sweets on Twitter.
Like Monster Sweets on Facebook.

Tuesday, 21 May 2013

Tango Blue Balls Review

tongue painters bonbons chewy

When I spotted bags of these Tango Blue Balls sweets in Discount UK, I was intrigued. I'm sure most people have heard of the term "blue balls" before so I needn't explain anything! The picture on the wrapper is supposed to be of two blue raspberries, but considering the name of this product I think they're meant to resemble something else..?

The sweets are described as "Blue raspberry flavour chewy bonbons", and are basically hard chewy sugar bonbons with flavourings and colours.

The wrapper says "No pain - no gain!" which had me thinking they would be extremely sour. It also describes them as "Tongue painters" as they turn your tongue bright blue, and I can confirm they did indeed have this effect. However they weren't very sour at all so I'm not sure where the "pain" aspect comes in.

tongue painters chewy bonbons

They tasted slightly of raspberries, but the overriding flavour was of chemicals and sugar. They weren't very pleasant. They were also far, far too hard and chewy. Presumably the main selling point is supposed to be the blue tongue effect, which they are certainly very effective at, but why anyone would buy sweets to make their tongue blue is beyond me!

tongue painters chewy bonbons

Overall I wasn't really a fan of these. They tasted a bit cheap and artificial, and leave your tongue looking like you've snogged a smurf. The makers have used some dodgy marketing to sell them and once the novelty wears off, all you're left with is a cheap product!

There's also Orange Tango Bonbons available from Discount UK, which oddly (but perhaps wisely) aren't called Orange Balls.

Price: £1 at Discount UK.
Ingredients: Sugar, glucose syrup, vegetable oil, pork gelatine, colours and flavours. Not suitable for vegetarians.

Have you tried Tango Blue Balls? If so what did you think of them? 

Monday, 20 May 2013

Maltesers Teasers Bar Review


It's been a busy few months in new chocolate news. We've had the new Dairy Milk Marvellous Creations bars from Cadbury, Magnum extended their ice cream brand into chocolate bars, and even Nestlé made a bid for extra sales with their 5 finger version of Kitkat.

Mars have also gotten in on the act and released this new Maltesers Teasers bar, which is basically the Malteser chocolate from Celebrations in bar form. I've always said Mars should make a Maltesers chocolate bar and I'm surprised it took them this long to be honest!

As you can see in this pic the bar is split into weird "bubble sections". I'm not sure what that's all about but it's certainly a unique look for a chocolate bar! It reminded me of the new Aero "bubble shaped" bars.


Taste-wise, this bar was very different from regular Maltesers, and actually much nicer in my opinion. As good as Maltesers are I find their crunchiness a little bit annoying, especially when you get a build-up of the malty bits in your mouth if you eat too many. This bar solves that problem and just gives little crunchy bits of malt in a creamy tasting chocolate bar. It's a much more convenient way to eat Maltesers! The chocolate contains 25% cocoa solids, which gives it a decent standard chocolatey taste. I enjoyed my bar with a cup of coffee which it went perfectly with.


Overall, this is a delicious chocolate bar and one I would happily buy again. It's also available in a big block size which sounds a bit dangerous to me - I would be tempted to eat the whole thing!

Price: 57p at Asda & Tesco.
Nutrition information: Contains 186 calories and 10g fat per bar.
Allergy advice: Contains wheat, gluten, milk and soya. Suitable for vegetarians. Kosher.

Saturday, 18 May 2013

Ülker Ҫikolata - Turkish Hazelnut Chocolate


Whilst browsing a local Turkish store I came across this bar of "Ülker Ҫikolata Findikli", which is a milk chocolate bar containing chopped hazelnuts. I'm always interested in foreign brands I've never heard of before so decided to give it a try. Unfortunately I hadn't checked the date and it turned out that it was very close to the sell-by date. It also cost £1.49, which considering the small size of the bar is a lot of money for something that's stale! I seem to be cursed with buying out of date chocolate bars, when will I learn?!

Anyway, when I opened the wrapper the chocolate at least smelled very nice. And it looked pretty attractive too with it's gold foil wrapper and interesting shaped blocks:




Unfortunately it tasted horrible. The chopped hazelnuts were stale and tasted rancid, completely ruining the bar. I had to throw it in the bin after a few bites.


Overall I was very disappointed with this bar, it's such a shame it wasn't in date as I'd really like to see how Turkish chocolate compares to our British stuff. If I come across another Ülker bar in future I'll give one a try as long as it's in date!

For a more positive Ülker product review do check out Grocery Gems' post on Ülker Cokomel Banana Marshmallow Chocolates, they sound a lot more appetizing than this bar!

Wrigley's 5 Turbulence Watermelon Gum


I'm not usually a big fan of chewing gum apart from the fruity ones like Hubba Bubba (technically bubble gum, but I still see it as the same thing!), but when I spotted this Watermelon flavour from Wrigley's 5 I thought it unique enough to try. Wrigley's 5 is a chewing gum range with stronger and more intense flavours than regular chewing gums; I've tried some of their range in the past and thought they were very successful as far as gum goes.


This Watermelon flavour was just as good as the others in the range, it had a strong and realistic watermelon taste which was very refreshing. I really enjoyed it and thought it was a nice way to get a breath freshening hit. The flavour is more intense and lasts longer than regular gums, which is exactly what you want if you're buying gum in my opinion. Nothing annoys me more than gum which tastes nice for the first few bites and then loses it's flavour!

Overall, I can only recommend this gum, it gives a refreshing watermelon taste and goes further than most regular, boring chewing gums!

Price: 59p from local newsagent.
Ingredients: Contains sweeteners, soya, and a source of phenylalanine. Suitable for vegetarians.

Friday, 17 May 2013

Ritter Sport White Chocolate & Cornflakes (Weiss + Crisp)

white chocolate and cornflakes hazelnuts

A big thankyou to Monster Sweets who kindly sent me this Ritter Sport Weiss + Crisp (White chocolate and Cornflakes) bar to review recently. Monster Sweets are a company specializing in European and American snacks, and have one of the largest Ritter Sport ranges available in the UK, plus cheap postage to boot! For more info check out their banner on the side of this blog or visit their website here:
http://www.monstersweets.co.uk/

I'm a big fan of Ritter Sport's white chocolate - their White Whole Hazelnuts Bar is perfection - so I had high hopes for this Weiss + Crisp. And it far surpassed them, it was even better than the White Whole Hazelnuts!

Opening the wrapper the chocolate looked and smelled great, with a lovely vanilla hinted aroma (apologies for my dark-looking picture but there was a serious lack of light at the time!).

white chocolate cornflakes

Biting into a piece I was first met with a vanilla hit from the white chocolate - it tasted superbly creamy and really good quality. The cornflakes were crunchy and had a slightly salty, savoury edge to them. Combined with the creamy white chocolate they made this bar very moreish, and it didn't take me long to munch through it all because I kept coming back for another piece! It really was that addictive!

white chocolate cornflakes

My conclusion is that this one of Ritter Sport's best chocolate bars. Which is high praise because I also thought their Coconut and Crema Catalana bars were pretty amazing too!

white chocolate cornflakes

Overall, I would highly recommend this bar if you're a fan of Ritter Sport, white chocolate and cornflakes. Ritter do this combination amazingly well, but be warned because once you start eating this bar you will find it hard to stop! Fans of the Ritter Sport White Whole Hazelnuts should check this out especially.

Price: £1.55 from Monster Sweets. You can check out the rest of their Ritter Sport range here: http://www.monstersweets.co.uk/ritter-sport-16-c.asp

Monster Sweets on Twitter.
Monster Sweets on Facebook.

*Monster Sweets sent me this bar for an honest review and all views expressed are my own. 

Thursday, 16 May 2013

Meerkats Jelly Sweets

b&m bargains jellies holland

"Oh no, they've turned them into sweets now!" was my first thought when I saw these Meerkats Jellies in B&M bargains.

If you're from the UK I'm sure you'll know what I mean. Meerkats have become a "thing" here thanks to those annoying "Compare the meerkat" adverts (there's even a wikipedia page for them: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Compare_the_Meerkat). As if the adverts weren't enough, they've branched out into soft toys, t-shirts, posters, books and other such rubbish. And now sweets!

Despite hating the adverts I grudgingly bought these just to see if they tasted any good. I wish I hadn't bothered because they turned out to be as bad as the adverts!

Opening the pack I knew something was wrong because they smelled very chemically. Which is odd, because on the front of the pack it says they contain natural colours and flavours. Yet the ingredients lists several different E-numbers. I never realized E-numbers could be considered natural!

b&m bargains holland

They tasted very chemically and had an unpleasant after-taste. They were also annoyingly chewy which didn't help matters. I tried tasting each flavour individually and some were ok; the green and red one had a nice apple flavoured sour tang and the yellow one tasted of citrus. But the chemical aftertaste quickly ruined the flavour.

Overall, these are one to avoid. They're simply a cheap product cashing in on the meerkat "thing" and there are far better sweets for a similar price sold in most discount stores, including B&M. Simples!

Price: 89p.
Made by: Mackay Sweets who are based in Holland.
Ingredients: Sugar, e-numbers, nettle and spinach extracts, vegetable oil. Contains wheat starch.

Wednesday, 15 May 2013

Cadbury Pots of Joy - White Chocolate Buttons Review

white chocolate buttons

After reading Grocery Gems review of these new Pots of Joy I've been on the hunt for them ever since. I found the twin packs in the Co-Op, but for some odd reason they didn't have any of the white chocolate buttons variety - the ones I wanted to try the most! So I bided my time, and it's just as well I did because I found them on offer in Asda a few days later at £1 for a 4 pack! Bargain! I bought these and the caramel variety.

white chocolate buttons

One thing I wasn't quite expecting, despite reading Grocery Gems' reviews, was just how small they would be. There wasn't much more than two spoonfuls in a pot! Before I knew it I'd eaten it all and had to break into a second pot to feel like I'd eaten something (I'm sure this is a trick to get people to consume more!).

white chocolate buttons

Taste-wise they were very creamy and smooth, and being white chocolate flavoured they were also quite sweet. A little bit too sweet for me, infact. The white chocolate flavour was nice but I thought it could have been a bit stronger. The smoothness of these desserts more than made up for the sweetness though - they were ridiculously smooth and creamy.

Overall I thought these were nice desserts, they're very smooth and creamy and if you like white chocolate you're bound to enjoy them. They were just a little bit too sweet for me though, as well as being too small. That said, I would still buy them again if I wanted a white chocolate fix in dessert form.

Price: £1 for 4 pots at Asda.
Ingredients: Contains gelatine - not suitable for vegetarians!
Allergy information: Contains milk and soya.
Calories: 160 Calories and 6.6g fat per 70g pot.         

Tuesday, 14 May 2013

Butlers Mixed Berry White Chocolate


A big thankyou to Butlers Chocolates who kindly sent me some bars from their extensive range to review back in February. It's taken me a while to get round to reviewing them but they were definitely worth the wait!

For those who have never heard of Butlers they are a family-owned luxury chocolatier based in Ireland, and they have 15 "Butlers Chocolate Cafes" in Ireland and 1 in the UK. Their tagline is "purveyors of happiness", and after sampling some of their range I can certainly agree with that statement!

Butlers are relatively unheard of here in Britain, although they have a selection box available in Waitrose. They really should be more well-known because their chocolates are all delicious in my opinion!

For today's review I'm starting with one of my favourite bars from their range, the Mixed Berry White Chocolate. This bar came packaged in a simple, stylish paper wrapper and the chocolate itself was foil-wrapped. Opening it up I was met with a lovely fruity aroma of strawberries and blueberies - it smelled verrrry enticing!


Biting into a piece, I was met with an intense creamy and fruity taste. The mixed berries tasted zingy and fresh and had a lovely crunch to them. Combined with the sweet and creamy white chocolate it was a dangerously addictive combination - very, very moreish! The chocolate melted in the mouth nicely and was super smooth.


The blueberries and strawberries were the most noticeable flavours, although there were raspberries, blackberries and even lingonberries in the mix too! All these flavours combined together to make a fruity and creamy hit which was very moreish.

Overall I would highly recommend this bar if you get the chance to try it, it's practically perfection in terms of white chocolate, and I wish it were more widely available in the UK!

More Butlers reviews to come soon... I've become a bit of a fanboy of their chocolate so expect lots of gushing!

Butlers range of chocolates are available from their website here:

http://www.butlerschocolates.com/uk/our-products.html

*Butlers kindly sent me this bar for an honest review and all views expressed are my own. 

Monday, 13 May 2013

Nestlé After Eight Limited Edition Mint & Orange Review


nestle deutschland limited edition

Yes, you read the title right, these After Eights are mint AND orange flavoured. As in, both flavours in the same chocolate! This odd limited edition flavour is the brainchild of Nestlé Deutschland, and has somehow ended up in B&M Bargains stores in the UK.

limited edition germany

Opening the box, the After Eights smelled very lovely; they had a familiar dark chocolate and orange aroma. They were in little paper cases like regular After Eight and looked very well presented:

mint and orange limited edition

The taste was as odd as you would expect. When I bit into one I was first met with a strong zingy orange flavour, which was very pleasant. Then the taste of mint made its presence known, which dominated and ruined the orange flavour. Then the orange taste came back once again. It was almost like it couldn't decide which flavour it wanted to be! The two competing flavours made for a very odd taste experience to say the least.

mint and orange limited ed

To be honest I didn't really enjoy these After Eights, yet after eating one I wanted just one more; there was something slightly addictive about them. I put that down to the combination of dark chocolate and sugary fondant, rather than the orange and mint flavour.

nestle limited edition

Overall, I wouldn't really recommend these After Eights, yet at the same time I do think they're worth trying at least once. The combination is so odd you probably won't ever see them in shops again!

Price: £1.99 at B&M Bargains.
Ingredients: Conatins milk and whey. Suitable for vegetarians.
Made by: Nestlé Deutschland.

Sunday, 12 May 2013

Vanini Bianco white chocolate


Here we have the Vanini Bianco. I'm completely new to the Vanini chocolate brand, having only seen a handful of their bars in Tk Maxx, but so far my experience has been disappointing (see my review of the Vanini Cherry). Luckily that seems to have been an isolated incident and this Vanini Bianco was much better.

Vanini describe this chocolate as "...a taste experience worthy of the attention even of the most demanding chocolate lovers. This chocolate is irresistable because of the creamy richness of its ingredients: cocoa butter and premium quality milk, to which is added very little sugar, and the delicate perfumed flavour of Bourbon vanilla from Madagascar".

Like the Vanini Cherry, the Bianco comes in a stylish looking box. Opening the wrapper, I was met with a delicious creamy vanilla hit. It smelled amazing! The chocolate looked great too; clean, glossy and with little speckles of vanilla seed in it. The Vanini logo is imprinted onto each block.


Taste-wise, it was almost too good. It was so creamy and buttery it made my throat tingle. The vanilla flavour was delicious. Usually white chocolate has a sugar dominated taste, but the predominant taste here was one of creaminess and vanilla. The texture was smooth and melted in the mouth without any hints of graininess.

Overall, this was a very delicious and good quality bar of white chocolate which I would happily buy again!

Price: £1.69 at Tk Maxx.
Nutritional facts: Contains milk and anhydrous butter (don't ask me what that is!).

Saturday, 11 May 2013

Vanini Cherry milk chocolate


Whilst browsing Tk Maxx a while ago this Vanini bar caught my eye, mainly because of the stylish packaging as well as the picture of the cherries. I'm always a sucker for fruity chocolates so I had to give it a try.

The chocolate contains 49% cocoa solids and is described as "Fine milk chocolate with black cherries". It's made by Vanini, who are a relatively new Italian brand. They describe themselves thus: "Only the best cocoa bought directly from selected plantations. Long term partnership with the cocoa growers. Direct control of the whole process from cocoa beans to chocolate. Total commitment to excellence".


Opening the wrapper, the chocolate looked very impressive - clean, smooth and with the Vanini logo imprinted onto each block. There were some strong cocoa scents coming from the chocolate with a faint hint of cherries.

I want to say I enjoyed the taste of this bar, I really do... but I can't. That's because the dried cherries spoiled it, simply because they were coated in vegetable oil which must have gone rancid. The rancid taste permeated every bite of the chocolate and ruined the whole experience, which is a shame because from what I could taste, the chocolate itself was quite smooth and rich. I suspect this bar must have been heat affected during transport or something.


Overall, this Vanini Cherry was a disappointment, but luckily, I found another Vanini bar which was a much more pleasant experience, so please stay tuned for that...

Have you tried Vanini's chocolates before? If so what did you think?

Price: £1.69 at Tk Maxx.