Thursday, 31 July 2014

Cadbury Dairy Milk with Chips Ahoy! Cookies Review

cadbury dairy milk chips ahoy cookies

The new products from Cadbury this year keep on rolling in...with the latest addition to the Dairy Milk range being this new variety with Chips Ahoy! Cookies. It's an odd addition since most UK folks have never heard of Chips Ahoy! cookies before - they aren't even sold over here! Maybe Mondelez are planning to launch them soon though.

The bar contains a biscuit flavoured cream filling, with pieces of chocolate chip cookies embedded within - it's somewhat similar to the Dairy Milk with Oreo bar in fact.

cadbury dairy milk chips ahoy cookies

The chocolate smelled very biscuity, and according to the wrapper the filling is "biscuit flavoured" so I don't know if they've mixed biscuit paste with it as well as the cookie pieces.

cadbury dairy milk chips ahoy cookies

It tasted good, in fact very good and I would say it even surpasses the delicious Dairy Milk with Oreo! The filling was very dense and creamy with a rich biscuity flavour, with the cookie pieces bringing a nice crunchiness and the chocolate chips adding further to the texture. I've never tried Chips Ahoy! cookies before so I can't say if these are like the real thing, but they're certainly very tasty.

Overall, this is a welcome addition to the Dairy Milk brand and one I hope sticks around. Although, I do think it might have some competition with the Oreo variety since they're both rather similar bars. I hope next time Cadbury bring out a new flavour they choose something without biscuit, such as coconut filled Dairy Milk, or Peanut Butter Dairy Milk (they've already done this in other countries!)...now that would be a real winner!

RATING: 8 out of 10.

Price: £1 at Tesco.
Allergy Information: Contains wheat, gluten, milk, soya. May contain nuts.
Suitable for vegetarians?: No - possibly due to e-numbers.
Nutrition (per 3 chunks): 85 Calories, 5.4g Fat, 8g Carbs, 7.3g Sugars.

Wednesday, 30 July 2014

Elizabeth Shaw Amaretto Crisp Milk Chocolate Bar Review


Whilst in 99p Stores recently I spotted this bar of Elizabeth Shaw Amaretto Crisp milk chocolate and thought I'd give it a whirl. I've never tried Elizabeth Shaw's chocolates before, so wasn't sure what to expect.

Amaretto isn't a common flavour pairing with milk chocolate, and understandably so - it works better with cakes and coffee based desserts. I was very intrigued how it would taste.


Turns out it was just okay. The milk chocolate was pretty good - milky and sweet with a nice melt, and the amaretto flavoured honeycomb crisp added a nice crunch. I liked the sweet honeycomb flavour, but felt the amaretto flavouring ruined the experience. It just didn't taste right with the chocolate, and spoiled the sweet honeycomb. Kind of like when you get alcoholic chocolates that overpower the taste of everything else.

Overall, an interesting attempt but not something I would buy again. I think next time I'll try the cocoa crunch or regular honeycomb Elizabeth Shaw bars (both of which were on sale at 99p Stores last time I checked).

RATING: 6.5 out of 10. 

Price: 99p at 99p Stores.

Tuesday, 29 July 2014

Tiana Raw Organic Coconut Goodness Coconut Butter Review


I'm a huge fan of coconut products, so it's just as well they're the hot new food trend at the moment. There's an increasing variety appearing in shops, with the gem of them all being coconut butter. If you haven't tried this stuff you seriously need to invest in some - it's delicious!

Coconut butter isn't the same as coconut oil or the butter you refrigerate; it's more like a nut butter that can be spread on toast or eaten from the jar. It's made from whole coconut flesh and tastes creamy and sweet, and is usually smooth in texture depending on the weather. In fact I would describe it as a coconut version of white chocolate spread...only much healthier of course!

I've bought a few jars during the the heatwave and found it to be quite oily and gooey due to the temperature, but in cooler weather it sets to become a firm "paste". It can be rather chunky in it's natural state, as shown here:


Unfortunately there's not much left in this pic as I'd already eaten most of it! (this tends to happen pretty quickly with me!). As you can see it's quite solid - I usually shave pieces off with a spoon and eat it that way.


It tastes very rich and delicious, but can sometimes be a little difficult to swallow due to the fibrousness of the coconut, so don't eat too much at once! The coconut fat makes it creamy and spreadable, and the jar recommends to spread it on toast or mix into smoothies...but I prefer to eat it straight from the spoon. I like to imagine it's a healthier version of white chocolate spread! It's moreish yet oddly satisfying - a few spoonfuls easily fill you up and it gives a nice energy boost to boot.

Overall, Tiana's Coconut Butter is a fantastic product which I would recommend to anyone who loves coconut! It's a bit pricey but well worth it.

Tiana's coconut butter is sugar-free, dairy-free, vegan and fairtrade. It contains metabolism boosting MCT fats (the good kind!) and is apparently good for making raw desserts and pina coladas...I may have to try this sometime! ;)

RATING: 9.5 out of 10 (yes, I love it that much!)

Price: £10 a jar at Holland & Barrett. Other brands can be found in health food stores, plus it can be purchased online (make sure not to buy the cooking butter version which is just coconut oil).
Allergy Information: Contains coconut. Made in a factory that only processes coconuts, so no risk of cross-contamination.
Suitable for vegetarians?: Yes, and vegans.
More info and coconut recipes: www.tiana-coconut.com

Sunday, 20 July 2014

Chocolat Madagascar Depuis 1940 100% Cocoa Review


I'm really getting into 100% cacao chocolates recently; so far I've tried The Grenada Chocolate Company's 100% bar which is one of my favourites, plus the various varieties in Hotel Chocolat's range as well as the Rococo Plus Noir Que Noir which were all very lovely.

Whilst ordering from chocoaltiers.co.uk recently I decided to try something new and went for this Madagascar Depuis 1940, which sounded a bit milder than most 100% bars judging by the reviews. I'm glad I did as it turned out to be very delicious, almost usurping The Grenada Chocolate Company as one of my favourites!


Firstly I have to say I liked the packaging design, it's simple but elegant. Unwrapping the foil (yes, some chocolate companies still use foil!) revealed a glossy bar divided into small chunks; the perfect size for savouring in small mouthfulls.


Taking my first bite I was surprised by how soft and smooth the chocolate was; it melted very easily on the tongue without any chalkiness. I allowed it to melt in my mouth rather than chew it, and it revealed a rich yet creamy cocoa flavour. As others have said it's more reminiscent of 60% dark chocolate than 100%, which isn't a bad thing at all - there's no bitterness or harshness to put off anyone new to 100% cacao chocolates. I enjoyed the bar with a cup of coffee which was the perfect partner.

Overall, a very tasty bar which I would recommend if you fancy exploring the "dark side" of chocolate! I will definitely buy this again and am seriously considering the couverture block containing several 100g bars...but I'm not sure I could stop myself from eating them all!

RATING: 9 out of 10. 

Price: £4.45
Available from: chocolatiers.co.uk
Suitable for vegetarians?: Yes.
Allergy Info: Gluten free, may contain traces of soya.

Wednesday, 16 July 2014

E Wedel Crème Brûlée Bar (Polish) Review


Whilst in my local Polish store recently I was in need of a choccy fix...and decided to go for this large Wedel Crème Brûlée bar. It's quite a hefty slab of chocolate so I knew it would be worth the price (£2.19). They also had a Raspberry Panna Cotta bar but Crème Brûlée is more up my street!


The chunks are sectioned with an interesting shape on each block - they reminded me of bottle caps, but I think they're meant to resemble the ramekins traditionally used for crème brûlée. Inside these sections was a layer of gooey golden caramel, with a layer of panna cotta cream and crunchy caramel pieces underneath.


It tasted...amazing! The cream filling was very smooth with a subtle vanilla flavour, with the crunchy caramel pieces adding a nice crunch. The softer caramel tasted gooey, sweet and buttery and went perfectly with the cream, making the bar feel very indulgent. It was a massive sugar overload, of course, but the kind that makes you feel warm and happy inside!

Overall, this is a delicious bar from Wedel and if you happen to spot it in any Polish stores I would recommend picking one up! Since they're so large they're great for sharing and very satisfying. They're also head and shoulders above the "soon-to-be-axedNestlé Wonka Crème Brûlée bars!

RATING: 8 out of 10. 

Tuesday, 15 July 2014

Spotted In Shops! - Tango Jaffa Cakes, Pots of Joy Hazel Whirl, Skittles Berry Milkshakes, Panda Squash, etc...

Here's some new and limited edition products I've spotted in supermarkets recently...

Cadbury Roses Pots of Joy Hazel Whirl

Following on from Roses Strawberry Dream Pots of Joy, Cadbury have now added this new Hazel Whirl variety to the range. Only available in 4 packs so far. Spotted in Tesco.

Tango Jaffa Cakes

Tango Jaffa Cakes! These are made by Huntley & Palmers who have quite a bit of history as a biscuit manufacturer, and contain an orange Tango filling coated in dark chocolate. I wonder how they compare to McVitie's Jaffa Cakes? Spotted in Home Bargains.

Skittles Wild Berry Milkhake

Last year I reviewed the regular Skittles Milk Shake and now they've brought out this Wild Berry variant...I didn't realize fruity milk drinks were so popular! Spotted at Tesco. 

Nestlé Aero Bubbly White Biscuits:

Nestlé are expanding their "Bubbly White" Aero even further with the release of these Bubbly White biscuits. They remind me of the now-defunct Fox's Echo bars...who else misses those? Spotted in Asda. 

Jammie Dodgers Berry Blast

The latest Jammie Dodgers flavour is this new "Berry Blast" variety. They're also doing banoffee and chocolate variations. Spotted in Tesco. 

Fox's Neapolitan Jam 'N Cream Biscuits

Fox's have been steadily expanding their biscuit varieties recently with flavours like Blueberry Muffin & Key Lime Pie, and the latest addition are these Jam 'N Cream Neapolitan biscuits. Spotted in Asda. 

Fox's Rocky Cookie Dough - Limited Edition

Fox's have also added this limited edition cookie dough variety to their Rocky biscuit range, which contain a cookie dough cream filling. Spotted in Asda. 

Fox's Chunkie White Chocolate Chip Cookies

Fox's have also added this new white chocolate chip variety to their Fox's Chunkie cookie range. Spotted at Tesco. 

Nescafé Café Menu Millionaire's Shortbread Mocha

This new limited edition has the flavour of both caramel and biscuit (how does that work in a drink?!) Spotted at Tesco.

Nescafé Café Menu Irish Cream Latte

There's also this "new" Irish Cream Latte variety, although I'm sure I've seen it before...

Barny Strawberry Sponge Bears

Barny "sponge bears" now come in a variety of flavours, which now includes this strawberry variety. There's also a new apple flavour. Spotted in Tesco.  

Fireman Sam Cheese Snacks

Another child-friendly product are these Fireman Sam Snacks, which come in both cheese and BBQ flavours. Whatever happened to Potsman Pat?! Spotted in Asda. 

Fray Bentos Chicken Balti Half Time Pie

With the World Cup now over with, expect to see these "Half Time Pies" reduced to clear...or in most good discount stores at the end of the year. Spotted in Asda. 

Mikado King Choco

Mondelez are expanding their Mikado range with this "luxury" variety of biscuit sticks called King Choco. They contain hazelnut praline and chopped hazelnuts with a thick chocolate coating. Spotted in Tesco. 

ChocOlé

Also debuting at Tesco are these German DeBeukelaer ChocOlé biscuit sticks, which look similar to Mikado but with a twisted shape. According to the DeBeukelaer website they are "pastry sticks for connoisseurs". 

The Collective Dairy Blueberry, Cranberry & Acai Yoghurt Drink

I've heard a lot about The Collective Dairy and it seems they're bringing out lots of interesting new products recently. I don't think I've seen acai used as a yoghurt flavouring before! Spotted in Tesco. 

Panda No Added Sugar Squash - Summer Fruits

Who else remembers Panda Pops?! They were small bottles of fizzy flavoured pop sold in most newsagents for around 20p. They came in an array of flavours including bubblegum, sherbet lemon, candy floss and even jelly and icecream, all with artificial flavours and colours. They may have been bad for you but I used to love them - I have fond memories of the bright blue flavour! Sadly they were recently axed after 35 years on shelves due to negative perceptions of fizzy drinks - boo!

Since then it seems they only produce non-fizzy drinks with all natural colours and flavours, and have introduced this No Added Sugar squash range. Spotted in Tesco. 

Panda Tropical No Added Sugar Squash 

As well as Summer Fruits there's also this Tropical flavour. I'll live in hope of a blue-coloured bubblegum variety!

Vimto Squeezy No Added Sugar Water "Flavourer"

Tesco must be expecting "water flavourers" to be a new trend as they had lots of varieties in recently. Whilst I think they're very handy, I can't see them replacing ready-made drinks or good old fashioned mineral water, to be honest.

Tesco One Squeeze

Tesco also do their own water "flavourers", in both apple and blackcurrant, and orange and pineapple. 

Well, that's it for this edition of Spotted In Shops...I hope you've enjoyed reading! Be sure to let me know if you've tried any of these new products in the comments!

Sunday, 13 July 2014

Nestlé Baci Perugina Dark Chocolate Hazelnut Bar Review

nestle baci perugina dark

A 99p Store opened near me recently so I had to check it out, and of course I went straight for the chocolate aisle like an excited kid! When I spotted this bar of Nestlé Baci Dark I couldn't resist - Baci chocolates are awesome, especially in bar form so I was curious how the dark compared to the milk chocolate variety (click here for a review of that one from Evening Treats).

Unfortunately the bar wasn't all dark chocolate...it had a dark chocolate base with a milk chocolate upper half. This was a bit confusing to my poor tastebuds; I'd rather have either all milk or all dark chocolate!

nestle baci perugina dark

The chocolate was very nice, it was full of a rich hazelnut gianduja filling plus whole and chopped hazelnuts, but unfortunately the dark and milk chocolates kind of cancelled each other out. The dark half spoiled the creamy sweetness of the milk chocolate, and didn't have a particularly rich or strong cocoa flavour - it just tasted of unsweetened chocolate. The milk chocolate was delicious though and brought a creamy sweetness to the hazelnuts, which is what I was really after! The gianduja was very tasty; think of Nutella in bar form and this comes pretty close.

Overall this is a very tasty and moreish bar, but the plain milk chocolate variety is much superior! Stay tuned for a review of that one soon, and also check out Evening Treats review of it HERE.

RATING: 7 out of 10.

Price: 99p at 99p Stores.

Friday, 11 July 2014

The Chocolate Smiths Baba Bizarre Rum & Raspberry Bar - Review


I've noticed a new range of bars from The Chocolate Smiths in local stores recently and been wondering what they might be like. They produce hand made chocolate in different varieties, and the "bizarre" combinations range from: white chocolate with rose and mint, milk chocolate with bacon bits, marshmallows and cinder toffee, jam coconut and caramel, plus many others! I opted for this limited edition Baba Bizarre to try first, which comprises of dark chocolate with a rum and sour raspberry filling.


The dark chocolate shell was very thick and so the filling wasn't really "portioned" - this made it ooze out, which was a little messy but isn't such a bad thing as it was so plentiful. It had a strong sour raspberry kick that was very refreshing and flavourful. You can tell it's hand made because the filling tasted of real raspberries, rather than the artificial stuff most companies use! Unfortunately (or fortunately depending on your tastes!) the rum flavour wasn't very strong...in fact I couldn't taste any. Rum is only listed as a flavouring in the ingredients so perhaps it was never meant to be the defining flavour.

Despite the lack of rum flavour I really enjoyed this bar; the dark chocolate was rich and flavourful whilst the raspberry filling gave it a tart, refreshing contrast. As an introduction to The Chocolate Smiths range this was a very positive experience and I can't wait to try more in future!

Overall, if you get a chance I'd highly recommend The Chocolate Smiths bars. They're available from their online store plus various Northumberland delis and shops.

For a review of some of their other bars check out Lot-O-Choc's reviews here:
Americana Bizarre
Bahama Bizarre

RATING: 8 out of 10.

Price: £3.75
More info: TheChocolateSmiths.com

Wednesday, 9 July 2014

CoYo Vanilla Coconut Milk Yogurt - Review


Last year I reviewed regular CoYo Yoghurt, and it seems since then the company has gone from strength to strength - they now have listings in Tesco stores, plus they're available from Waitrose in several different flavours. They've also removed the sweeteners and sugars from their plain yoghurts. CoYo contains vegan-friendly probiotic cultures, as well as one whole coconut per 100g of yoghurt.

I noticed this new vanilla variety in Waitrose the other day and couldn't resist giving it a try....I loooove vanilla yoghurt, but sadly cow's milk yoghurt doesn't seem to be my friend anymore - it's something I really miss!

coyo coconut milk yoghurt

It tasted lovely - very creamy and rich, with a nice yoghurty tang and a strong vanilla flavour. The vanilla seeds were clearly visible in the yoghurt so you can tell they hadn't skimped on them. This yoghurt felt like a real treat, especially to someone who hasn't eaten yoghurt in ages! I'd definitely buy it again, but perhaps not regularly as the price is a bit prohibitive.

If you're dairy intolerant or just trying to be healthy in general, I would highly recommend Co-Yo. It's a great alternative to cow's milk yoghurt and tastes natural and refreshing, unlike some of the awful soya-based abominations out there!

RATING: 8 out of 10.

Price: £2 at Waitrose.
Suitable for vegetarians?: Yes, and vegans.
Allergy Information: Contains coconut. Gluten-free, dairy-free, sugar-free & soya-free.
Nutrition (per 100g): 155 Calories, 15.2g Fat, 4.9g Carbs, 0.8g Sugars.

Tuesday, 8 July 2014

Divine Fairtrade Caramel Milk Chocolate Bar Review

divine fairtrade caramel milk chocolate

Whilst in Tesco Express recently I was mulling over which two chocolate bars to buy since they had a special offer on. It was either a Snickers Duo, or try something new! I went for this Divine Caramel Milk Chocolate and wasn't sure what to expect as I've never really paid attention to Divine chocolate before. I was pleasantly surprised to find this bar was very delicious, in fact it's head and shoulders above most of the chocolates on offer at Tesco Express!

divine fairtrade caramel milk chocolate

I ate it as soon as I left the store, hence the poor quality pic above!

The chocolate is of course fair trade which is what Divine are known for, and unlike most of the chocolates in Tesco Express (I'm looking at you Dairy Milk, Kitkat and Snickers!) it contains ZERO vegetable fats - hurrah! This is important to me because vegetable fats are a cheap filler and also damaging to health, plus palm oil is unsustainable. So finding chocolate that doesn't contain any is always a plus in my book! (for more info on the problems with palm oil, check out Green Peace).

The bar contained a smooth caramel flavoured filling - it wasn't gooey caramel but rather a caramel flavoured cream. That might sound disappointing, but it was actually very delicious! It tasted smooth, buttery and creamy and felt very indulgent. I enjoyed it immensely and soon wolfed down the whole bar.

Overall, I was pleasantly surprised by this Divine Caramel Milk Chocolate - it's an indulgent bar at a reasonable price, plus it's fairly traded and sustainable - what more could you want?

My recommendation to chocolate and caramel lovers: give these a try, you won't be disappointed!

RATING: 8 out of 10. 

Price: 80p or 2 for £1.20 at Tesco.
Suitable for vegetarians?: Not stated.
Allergy Information: Contains milk & soya. May contain nuts & gluten.
Nutrition (per 40g bar): 202 Calories, 11g Fat, 23.5g Carbs, 22g Sugar.

Monday, 7 July 2014

Nákd Cocoa Orange Fruit & Nut Bits Review

nakd cocoa orange bits

I've been experimenting with healthy snacks recently (see my review of Primal Joy Foods Paleo snacks HERE), and whilst in Tesco Express these Nákd Fruit & Nut bits caught my eye. They come in a handy snacking bag and so are perfect for sharing...which means of course that I gobbled the lot all to myself!

The "bits" are made up of dates, cashews, raisins, cocoa, rice flour and a hint of orange flavouring, which are then "smooshed together". They are wheat, gluten and dairy free, vegan and contain no added sugar. They're also apparently 1 of your 5 a day.

Opening the bag and pouring some out I have to say I wasn't all that eager to try them - they looked like, well...lumps of poo springs to mind! (sorry, I had to say it!) Thankfully they had a chocolatey orange aroma and such unpleasant thoughts were quickly forgotten!

nakd cocoa orange bits

They were quite fudgy in texture, and had a nice rich cocoa flavour with a zingy hint of orange. They were sweet but not in an overpowering way. I really enjoyed them and found they gave me a nice energy boost without making me feel manic, like regular sugar sometimes does. I did miss the lack of "real" chocolate in them, but reminded myself they're dairy and sugar free so of course they won't taste the same.

nakd cocoa orange bits

Overall, as far as healthy snacks go these Nákd fruit and nut bits are satisfying and tasty, and I think it's great that such sugar-free alternatives are widely available in supermarkets like Tesco. I hope this trend continues and we get more healthy snacking products from Nákd in future!

RATING: 8 out of 10. 

Price: £2 at Tesco Express.
Suitable for vegetarians?: Yes, and vegans.
Allergy Information: Contains cashew nuts. May contain traces of peanuts & other nuts.
Nutrition (per 35g): 145 Calories, 7g Fat, 15.8g Carbs, 13.6g Sugar.

Friday, 4 July 2014

GÜ Puds After Dark Raspberry & White Chocolate Mousses - Review


Whilst in Waitrose recently I noticed they were doing a BOGOF offer on GÜ Puds...how could I say no to that?! I plumped for two packs of these "New" After Dark Raspberry & White chocolate mousses, which sounded right up my street. They're described as "Velvety white chocolate mousse with a tart raspberry compote" and each pack contains two desserts.

Like all GÜ Puds they come in glass pots, which are handy to re-use if you wish to make your own mini desserts!


Peeling off the lid, the mousse had a lovely fresh, creamy aroma with a hint of vanilla. I didn't hesitate to get stuck in!


The mousse tasted lovely; really fresh and with a nice sweetness from the white chocolate that was creamy but not overpowering. The raspberry compote was also very fresh and with a nice tanginess, although I did think it overpowered the mousse a little bit. That aside these are still absolutely delicious and I would recommend them to anyone who loves white chocolate. I'll definitely be buying them again!

RATING: 8 out of 10. 

Price: £3.59 at Waitrose (Buy One Get One Free). Also available at Sainsbury's.
Suitable for vegetarians?: Yes.
Allergy Information: Contains milk & soya. May contain nuts.
Nutrition (per pot): 250 Calories, 16.8g Fat, 23.3g Carbs, 20g Sugar.