Monday, 31 October 2016

Nakd Apricot Crunch Bars Review

nakd apricot crunch

A few months back, Nakd launched several new editions in their bar range: Carrot Cake, Peanut Delight and these; Apricot Crunch. They've proven rather difficult for me to find, in fact I've only seen them once and that was in Waitrose!

Like all Nakd products, they are of course raw, vegan, dairy free, vegetarian, GM free and gluten free.

nakd apricot crunch

As well as apricots, dates and cashews, these contain soya protein "crunchies"...something I've never tried before!

nakd apricot crunch

Opening the wrapper, the bar certainly had a very strong apricot aroma...

nakd apricot crunch

But the taste was...weird. Now I like apricots but this bar just tasted odd to me, it tasted almost like it had artificial flavouring which is weird since Nakd only use natural ingredients. The protein crunchies provided some nice texture but I can't say they tasted that nice, in fact they tasted somewhat stale - why didn't they use rice crispies instead?

Overall, I really wasn't a fan of this at all, it just tasted all wrong. I can't put my finger on what it is...maybe the stale soya crunchies, or the overpowering apricot flavour. I won't be buying these again.

Nutrition Information (per 30g bar): 105 Calories, 2.2g Fat, 15.3g Carbohydrate (14.3g Sugars), 5.4g Protein. Contains soya and nuts.

What did you think of this bar? Let me know in the comments! 

6.5 out of 10. 

Sunday, 30 October 2016

The Primal Pantry Paleo Protein Bar: Cocoa Orange

primal pantry paleo protein bar cocoa orange

It's been a while since I reviewed The Primal Pantry range, but they're back again with some new "Paleo Protein Bars" that are not only Paleo Diet friendly, but vegan, vegetarian, gluten free and #fitfam & #macro friendly too! Yes, Primal Pantry are now doing bars made from plant-based hemp protein.

I was excited when I saw these because I'm always looking for healthy snack bars with added protein; I'm not a fan of whey protein bars, but I've experimented with hemp and pea protein. These don't contain pea protein though, which is good as it also makes them suitable for the legume allergic amongst us.

primal pantry paleo protein bar cocoa orange

I found this Cocoa Orange Bar for over £2 - yes you read that right - over £2 for a 55g bar (!) in my local Tesco Express. There's also a Mixed Berries variety which I'll be reviewing later.

primal pantry paleo protein bar cocoa orange

Opening the wrapper, it looked similar to the regular Primal Pantry bars although with a stodgier, firmer texture.

primal pantry paleo protein bar cocoa orange

Taking a bite, it's a pretty substantial bar and not quite as sweet or soft as most "natural" snack bars. It's made with coconut nectar and dates instead of sugar, which gives a nice earthy "natural" taste. It also contains hemp protein, almonds, dried orange and cocoa nibs, which add to the texture and give a nice crunch as well as a fruity hit from the orange. The bar tastes weirdly nice, and is very filling and satisfying, which I wasn't expecting. It won't make you want another bar straight after the first, which must be those filling protein #macros working their magic!

Overall, I think these "Paleo Protein Bars" are a great idea and a nice addition to the growing Natural Snacks market. I like that they're free from most allergens and don't resort to using whey powder as a protein source. I just can't get my head around the price...I know they're using all natural ingredients, but it's still a lot of money. I would buy these again, but only as an occasional purchase.

Nutrition Information (per 55g bar): 174 Calories, 10g Protein, 28g Carbohydrates (23g Sugars), 4g Fat, 5g Fibre. Contains nuts. 

8 out of 10.

Saturday, 29 October 2016

Alpro Dessert Moments: Almond Vanilla

alpro dessert moments almond vanilla

After trying the new Alpro Dessert Moments: Hazelnut Chocolate I was excited to try the other varieties in the range; rumour has it there's a Coconut one which I haven't been able to find yet, but luckily I did spot this Almond Vanilla version in Tesco over the weekend. It was part of Tesco's revamped chilled Free From section.

Like the Hazelnut Chocolate variety, these cost £2 for 4 pots and are vegan, vegetarian, dairy free and gluten free. They contain 30% less sugar than similar chilled dairy-based desserts.

alpro dessert moments almond vanilla

The desserts contain 1.7% almond as well as hulled soya beans, natural vanilla flavour and various thickeners in the ingredients.

alpro dessert moments almond vanilla

Opening the lid, they looked a bit like cold custard, with a gloopy thick texture. I can't say that's a bad thing!

alpro dessert moments almond vanilla

These tasted a bit different from the Hazelnut Chocolate variety, the flavour of the soya beans is more noticeable here and has a slightly odd taste. The vanilla is nice, and the almonds bring a fresh nutty flavour to the dessert, but it doesn't hide the soya. They certainly make for a satisfying dessert, but the weird soya flavour does let them down.

Overall, if you're vegan and dairy free these aren't bad desserts, but I would most definitely go for the Hazelnut Chocolate version over these any day. Now, if only I could find the Coconut variety...

Nutrition Information (per 100g): 72 Calories, 2.1g Fat, 10.6g Carbohydrate (8.1g Sugars), 2.5g Protein.

7.5 out of 10.

Friday, 28 October 2016

Beloved Date Fruit Hearts: Cocoa & Berry/Rich Cocoa

beloved cocoa berry date fruit hearts

I was ridiculously excited when I spotted these new varieties of Beloved Date Fruit Hearts in Asda recently...I was a huge fan of the originals and so "Cocoa and Berry" & "Rich Cocoa" sounded very enticing.

These were on offer of two packs for £1 so I got one of each new flavour. They're vegan, gluten free and nut free.

beloved cocoa berry date fruit hearts

I started off with Cocoa and Berry. The hearts come in a little plastic tray containing 5 pieces.

beloved cocoa berry date fruit hearts

Unlike the regular Date Fruit Hearts they of course had a darker colour due to the addition of cocoa. This variety also contains freeze-dried raspberry powder to give it the berry flavour. The dates were very tasty, as expected, with the rich sticky date flavour complimented nicely with a hint of cocoa. But I didn't really notice the berry flavour at all, it was overpowered by the strong date flavour. These are nice but they do need to up the berry content!

beloved rich cocoa date fruit hearts

The Rich Cocoa were pretty similar in taste; a strong date flavour with a hint of cocoa. I felt the cocoa content could have been higher to live up to the name, but these were still pleasant.

beloved rich cocoa date fruit hearts

Overall, I don't know what to say about these new Beloved Date Fruit Hearts other than: they're nice, but not really living up to the promised new flavours. My guess is that because dates are so strong in flavour they've overpowered the other new added ingredients.

7 out of 10.

Thursday, 27 October 2016

Urban Fruit Coconut Chips Review: Straight Up & Sriracha Chilli

urban fruit coconut chips

Recently I was offered some samples of the new range of "Triple Toasted" Coconut Chips from Urban Fruit to review, and as a lover of all things coconut I really couldn't say no!

These come in two flavours: Sriracha Chilli and Straight Up (aka plain). The Straight Up variety simply contains toasted coconut, coconut nectar & sea salt whilst the Sriracha Chilli contains chilli seasoning, coconut nectar and sea salt. They're vegan and vegetarian friendly, gluten free and contain less than 130 calories a bag.

urban fruit coconut chips sriracha chilli

I started off with trying the sriracha chilli, which has a strong flavoursome chilli kick. The chips were very moreish and crunchy; you can certainly tell they're triple baked. For a small amount they certainly packed a nice flavour punch. I really enjoyed these!

urban fruit coconut chips

I was lucky enough to get an extra large piece of coconut in one of the bags...see above!

urban fruit coconut chips straight up

The Straight Up version was nice although I didn't enjoy it as much as the Sriracha Chilli. They're a weird mixture of being very sweet, but also crunchy and almost savoury...the combination doesn't really work for me. I found the sweetness a bit too much. But at least it's sweetness from a natural source like coconut nectar rather than white sugar.

Overall, these are some tasty guilt-free snacks for sure, and I'm definitely #TeamChilli (Sriracha) rather than #TeamChill (Straight Up)! Which are you? Let me know in the comments!

Nutrition Information (per 25g): 
Sriracha Chilli: 122.2 Calories, 10.4g Fat, 4.6g Carbohydrates, 4.09g Sugars 1.28g Protein. 
Straight Up: 118 Calories, 10.4g Fat, 3.7g Carbohydrates, 3.57 Sugars, 1.25g Protein.

Wednesday, 26 October 2016

Choceur Salted Caramel White Chocolate Almonds (Aldi)

Choceur Salted Caramel White Chocolate Almonds

Whilst in Aldi over the weekend I spotted a new range of festive chocolate coated almonds...there's some rather unique flavours like Mascarpone White Chocolate, Spiced Chocolate and these: Salted Caramel White Chocolate. I'll be reviewing the latter two shortly but I just had to start with these because although salted caramel is becoming too ubiquitous now, these taste amazing!

Choceur Salted Caramel White Chocolate Almonds

They cost 99p at Aldi and are described as "Almonds covered in white chocolate blended caramel powder and salt". The fact that these are white chocolate as well as salted caramel is what really sets them apart from your average salted caramel product.

Choceur Salted Caramel White Chocolate Almonds

The almonds were nice and chunky with a thick layer of the salted caramel white chocolate on each. Taking a bite, I was in heaven...it tastes like Caramac, or rather Salted Caramac, but much better quality!

Choceur Salted Caramel White Chocolate Almonds

The flavour is creamy, sweet and caramelly with just the right hint of salt. It's like if Caramac bars tasted as good as they used to but with a hint of salt added. The nuts were nicely toasted with a woody, savoury flavour. I couldn't help but keep munching on these one after the other, they're very addictive!

Overall, these are fantastic and I urge everyone to seek them out, they'd be the highlight of any Christmas snacking selection for sure! Just make sure to buy a few packs as they're so moreish!

Nutrition Information (per 100g): 564 Calories, 37 Fat, 48g Carbohydrates, 45g Sugars, 9.2g Protein. Contains milk and soya. Not stated if suitable for vegetarians. 

9 out of 10.

Tuesday, 25 October 2016

Haribo Starmixmas: Christmas Flavours

haribo starmixmas christmas flavours

Haribo are back again with another new variety...this follows hot on the heels of Haribo Minions with Banana & Icecream, and Haribo Fairyland and is a seasonal edition with Christmas flavours. I found a bag for 95p in the Christmas section of Wilkinsons recently.

haribo starmixmas christmas flavours

There's some very interesting new varieties: Apple Strudel & Custard Rings, Eggnog Fried Eggs, Cherry Trifle Hearts...

haribo starmixmas christmas flavours

As well as Gingerbread Gummy Bears, Apple Strudel Bottles, and Cherry Crumble Rings.

haribo starmixmas christmas flavours

Now a few of those do sound a little gimmicky, after all Cherry Crumble is hardly a traditional Christmas dessert...but how do they taste?

haribo starmixmas christmas flavours

There were a lot of Cherry Trifle hearts in my bag, so it's just as well that it's a pretty tasty flavour! The "trifle" part presumably is the foam backing, which is nice and pleasant with a creamy vanilla edge, whilst the main part has a nice strong cherry flavour.

haribo starmixmas christmas flavours

I have no idea if these Eggnog Eggs actually taste of Eggnog...because I have never tried eggnog, I've never liked the idea of it! What I can say though is that these had a sweet, creamy and slightly spiced flavour that was very tasty.

haribo starmixmas christmas flavours

The gingerbread gummy bears were true to their name and had a nice sweet spicy ginger flavour...although I'd liken it more to ginger beer than gingerbread. But it fits the Xmas theme, I suppose!

haribo starmixmas christmas flavours

The Apple Strudel bottle had a nice sweet apple flavour that was very pleasant. It may be my imagination but I think I could also taste a hint of cinnamon.

haribo starmixmas christmas flavours
Apple Strudel & Custard (left), Cherry Crumble (right)
The Apple Strudel & Custard ring tasted pretty similar to the bottle, but perhaps with a slightly sweeter vanilla-hinted flavour. The cherry crumble just tasted of sweet cherry.

These are a decent mixture of flavours, and some of them are really good - I found myself enjoying the eggnog eggs and the gingerbread bears the most - whereas the rest were nice complimenting flavours but not particularly Christmassy. I do think Haribo missed a trick by not having anything Christmas Pudding or Mince Pie flavoured.

Overall, not a bad seasonal edition, and worth a try just for the eggnog eggs and gingerbread bears.

Nutrition Information (per 100g): 342 Calories, 0.5g Fat, 77g Carbohydrate, 47g Sugars, 6.6g Protein. Not suitable for vegetarians.

8 out of 10.

Monday, 24 October 2016

Haribo Fairyland Review

Haribo Fairyland

When I saw these new Haribo Fairyland I will admit the kid in me let out a squeal of excitement. Not only are they candyfloss flavoured, they come in wonderfully magical unicorn and fairy shapes. They're also for believers only...so put on your best unicorn hat, say a prayer to the fairies and believe...(Unicorns are real!)

I found these in Tesco for just under £1 and they contain strawberry candyfloss and strawberry and cream flavour jellies, in unicorn and fairy shapes.

Haribo Fairyland

Opening the bag they certainly had a magical, sweet aroma...

Haribo Fairyland

The shapes are brilliant...the unicorn ones especially. There's 4 different ones in total. The candyfloss sweets had a definite candyfloss flavour with a hint of strawberry...it's hard to describe but it's very sweet and kind of comforting.

Haribo Fairyland

The strawberries and cream ones were also very nice, again, sweet and comforting.

Haribo Fairyland

After a few sweets I did find myself wanting something a bit sharper and citrusy to break up the flavours bit...the magic of all the sweetness was getting a bit too much!

Overall, these are a lovely idea from Haribo, fun magical sweets perfect for every kid or big kid. The flavours are nice, but could do with more variation. Definitely worth a buy for the shapes alone, though!

8.5 out of 10. 

Sunday, 23 October 2016

Chocolate Choccers: M&M's copycat (Poundland)

Chocolate choccera poundland

When I saw this pack of "Choccers" in Poundland recently I must admit I had to do a double take...at first I thought they were a new variety of M&Ms: the packaging is practically identical. Then after reading the packet I realized they're not associated with Mars at all - they're made by a Spanish company for Sweet Heaven. I'm not sure how Poundland can get away with selling such a blatant copycat product, especially considering the dispute between Mars and Mondelez in Sweden recently (Mars are blocked from selling M&Ms in Sweden, as Mondelez sell a similar product called Marabou M's).

But they're selling these regardless, costing £1 as you might guess, and they're described as "couverture chocolate in a crisp colored shell".

Chocolate Choccers

Opening the pack, they all looked the same as M&Ms with their bright colours. I poured them into my fancy new star dish from Home Bargains.

Chocolate Choccers

Taste-wise they were...a bit eh. Super sugary because of the sugar shells, and the chocolate didn't taste all that nice to be honest, it was rather cheap and a bit like calendar chocolate. Munching on a handful was a joyless experience...despite the fact they looked so bright and colorful. I ended up throwing most of the pack in the bin...something I rarely do!

Overall, these are a huge disappointment, and they've only set themselves up for this by pretending to be M&Ms in the first place. The weird thing is...Poundland already sells M&Ms. So why would anyone choose this inferior version? Is there a market for products that taste worse than the original even when they're the same price? Baffling! This is one to avoid folks...

4 out of 10. 

Saturday, 22 October 2016

Chocologic No Added Sugar Giant Milk Chocolate Buttons

chocologic no added sugar milk chocolate buttons

Chocologic are back with some new products...yay! This time with No Added Sugar Giant Milk Chocolate Buttons, which is good news for anyone avoiding sugar or on a low carb diet.

chocologic milk chocolate buttons

The sugar has been replaced with "alimentary fibres"; dextrin, inulin and oligofructose, as well as the sweeteners erythritol and stevia. As well as these, the buttons of course contain milk.

chocologic giant milk chocolate buttons

These cost £1.20 for a bag in Tesco which is pretty reasaonable since you get a decent amount (75g) and the buttons are nice and chunky. In fact they reminded me of Yorkie Giant Buttons.

Chocologic no added sugar milk chocolate buttons

Thankfully, they tasted a lot better! When I tried the Chocologic Milk Chocolate Bar last year I felt it had a slight Calender Chocolate taste...well somehow that doesn't seem to be the case here. I don't know if they've changed the recipe, but these buttons were rather creamy and tasty, I certainly scoffed more than a handful! They're a lot less sweet than regular milk chocolate buttons, and all the better for it really. I much preferred them over how Cadbury Dairy Milk Buttons taste nowadays...these are smooth and melt in the mouth whereas Cadbury's are greasy and far too sweet.

Overall, I have to say these are a winner! Perfect for a lower sugar snack and pretty darn tasty...just be careful though because they're a bit too easy to eat!

Nutrition Information (per 5 buttons): 77 Calories, 5.8g Fat, 5.4g Carbohydrates, 2.7g Fibre, 1.3g Protein. Suitable for vegetarians. 36% cocoa solids. 60% less sugar compared to similar UK chocolate products .

8.5 out of 10.

Friday, 21 October 2016

Haribo Minions: Bananaaa! & Ice Cream Flavours


Somehow, Haribo Minions are a thing that have passed me by, but I'm aiming to correct that now. What lured me in with these was the promise of banana and ice cream flavours; something a bit different for jelly sweets. I found these in Tesco recently for just under a pound, along with a few other new Haribo sweets I'll be reviewing shortly.


What makes these even more special is that one of the new flavours shares the same name as me! Yes, Kevin from Minions has the honour of being banana flavoured! The others are Blueberry Bob, Apple Stuart, Raspberry Dave and Cherry Jerry. Genius naming if ever there was.


Some of the flavours also contain an ice cream flavour foam backing...yum!



I tried the Banana Kevin flavour first, of course! It had a subtle banana flavour that complimented the ice cream foam quite nicely. It wasn't artificial tasting, thankfully.


The Blueberry Bob flavour was also very nice, with a subtle blueberry flavour. Again, no artificial flavour was detectable.


The other flavours were equally as good...a nice tangy Apple Stuart flavour, sour cherry from Cherry Jerry and a berry sweeteness from raspberry Dave. Overall the flavours combined together very well, they're the sort of stuff you'd find in a fruit cocktail and go nicely with the ice cream flavour. I don't know what the original Haribo Minions taste of but these are definitely a good mixture.

Overall, as weird as banana might sound in jelly form it's actually rather nice and works surprisingly well with the other flavours, and the ice cream foam is the perfect complimenting flavour. I would definitely buy these again!

Nutrition Information (per 100g): 342 Calories, 0.5g Fat, 77g Carbohydrate, 47g Sugar, 6.6g Protein. Not suitable for vegetarians. 

8.5 out of 10.