Tuesday, 31 May 2016

New Cadbury Crunchie Chocolate Spread Review

cadbury crunchie chocolate spread

Last week I reviewed the new Cadbury Caramel Chocolate spread and it was pretty awesome, so once I'd finished it off I thought why not try this Crunchie variety too. Like the Caramel version it cost £2.25 which isn't too cheap, but it's a special spread so I'll forgive them. This one is a milk chocolate spread with Crunchie bits mixed in. They only seem to be available at Tesco currently but I'm sure other supermarkets will have them in soon enough.

cadbury crunchie chocolate spread

Opening the lid I got a strong waft of honeycomb and chocolate, it definitely smelled very...honeycomb-ey!

cadbury crunchie chocolate spread

Scooping some out, the Crunchie bits are just about visible mixed in with the spread. 

cadbury crunchie chocolate spread

There was only one way to do this...spoon straight into mouth! 

Unlike the Caramel spread, this one has a more purer chocolate flavour. There's a lot of Crunchie bits crammed in, they're very crunchy as you'd expect and with a strong honeycomb flavour, making this a very sweet but moreish spread. I tried adding a dollop to some homemade rice pudding, which made it even yummier and brought out the honeycomb flavour as it melted: 

cadbury crunchie spread pudding

Overall, this is a dangerously addictive spread from Cadbury and very yummy, but out of the two I preferred the Caramel Spread, it just has that luxurious caramel edge that lifts it. I hope both of these spreads are popular so Cadbury/Mondelez bring out more varieties...anyone for Daim spread or Fruit & Nut? Or maybe Nestle will get in on the act next? Who knows, but I wouldn't be surprised if we get more chocolate bars in spreadable form in the near future...

8 out of 10.

Monday, 30 May 2016

Marks & Spencer Chocolate Fudge Whips

Marks and Spencer chocolate fudge whips

I tried the Marks & Spencer Salted Caramel Whips way back when, but this Chocolate Fudge variety somehow passed me by since there's been so many other new treats out. However, these were reduced to just £1 a box the other day in M&S so I couldn't resist giving them a try! There's three whips per box with a layer of soft mallow and chocolate fudge above it, coated in milk chocolate and dark chocolate, with a little white chocolate coated fudge piece on top.

Marks and Spencer chocolate fudge whips

Like the Salted Caramel Whips, these have an unusual shape and are a bit different to a regular walnut whip. I do like the shape, it's quite fun but it does make the whip difficult to bite into.

Marks and Spencer chocolate fudge whips

Taste wise, the mallow is nice and chewy but there was more of the fudge layer overpowering it. The chocolate fudge was nice, with a good fudgey texture and deep chocolatey flavour, and combined with the thick chocolate shell it gives you quite an intense chocolatey hit. The dark chocolate part of the shell isn't really noticeable, the milk chocolate is really at the forefront. The fudge piece on top gives a nice chewy bite of extra sweetness.

Overall, these Whips are very tasty and give you quite an intense chocolatey hit, but to be honest I preferred the Salted Caramel variety (which were also reduced in price at M&S recently, I do hope they're not being discontinued). I really want to try the new British Pudding Whips Assortment next...

7.5 out of 10. 

Saturday, 28 May 2016

M&S Spirit of Summer Cocoa & Pecan Soft Penuche Fudge

Spirit of summer soft Penuche fudge

As ridiculous as it's been to have this Spirit of Summer range from Marks and Spencer out wayyyy before Summer even begins, Summer is almost around the corner...and I know of a certain chopsy pal who might even start buying some stuff from them soon...but I thought I'd start early, and get myself in the mood. After all the weather has been pretty pants (at least it has where I am), so what better way to lighten the mood than fudge?!

This isn't just any fudge...this is of course M&S Spirit of Summer Cocoa & Pecan "soft Penuche fudge". Penuche is a new word on me, so I googled it to find that it means fudge made with brown sugar rather than white sugar. Here's a more in-depth article about it for anyone interested.

Spirit of summer soft Penuche fudge

For £2 you get 132g of  "a mix of brown sugar fudge with pecan nuts and cocoa", some of the chunks are cocoa flavoured and the others are regular fudge with pecan nuts added. It all smelled very inviting! 

Spirit of summer soft Penuche fudge

Both fudges were very soft, rather than the crumbly tablet-like fudge you so often seem to get in most shops these days. I really enjoyed the pecan one, the nuts brought out the buttery flavours, but I wasn't so keen on the cocoa fudge...it just tasted a little non-descript, not particularly chocolatey and not particularly buttery. I think they should have just put chocolate chips in instead. 

Overall, this is some nice fudge, and it's good to see softer rather than crumbly fudge for a change, but it could have been much better. 

7.5 out of 10. 

Friday, 27 May 2016

7Up Free Mojito Flavour Review

7UP Free Mojito

Fizzy drinks 3 days in a week, blimey I must be setting a new KSR record here! Yes, after trying the new sugar free varieties from Lucozade this week I've also found the time to try this new 7Up Free Mojito, which I found in WH Smiths of all places for £1.79. Not cheap, but then WH Smiths never is! The "Free" part means it's free of sugar, colours and caffeine, and low in calories, but thankfully not flavour...

7UP Free Mojito

Like all 7Up this is lemon and lime flavoured, but with an added twist of mint to make it Mojito-like. 

What can I say, this tastes pretty much like you'd expect from a Mojito 7Up: lemon and lime pop with a refreshing cool minty flavour. It was very nice indeed, I didn't expect mint to work in a fizzy drink but it was actually lovely. I'll happily buy this in big bottles if they ever decide to do them, but I doubt I'd pay this much for such a small bottle again...

Overall, a nice refreshing summer limited edition from 7Up, definitely worth a try if you like sugar free drinks with an adult twist! 

8 out of 10.

Thursday, 26 May 2016

New Cadbury Caramel Chocolate Spread Review

cadbury caramel spread

I've been on the lookout for this new Cadbury Caramel Spread for the grand sum of a few days now, ever since my Snacks Warrior pal blogged about it. It seems that new products are a bit slow at making their way up North (probably due to horse and carriages or something like that) but my local Tesco is now stocking this and the Cadbury Crunchie Spread - hurrah! Since these were £2.25 a jar I declined the Crunchie for a date with Caramel...because who doesn't love a bit of caramel?!

cadbury caramel spread

Described simply as "Chocolate and caramel spread", twisting the lid off I was met with a gorgeous, strong caramel aroma. It smelled divine!

cadbury caramel chocolate spread

The spread is basically swirled in two layers, one is caramel and one is chocolate, although I'm sure the chocolate part was also caramel flavoured. 

cadbury caramel chocolate spread

I scooped some out with a spoon and promptly took a mouthful, no messing about for me! It tasted every bit as buttery gorgeous as I'd imagined...it had a strong butterscotch/toffee like flavour, and was of course very rich and sickly sweet...diabetes in a mouthful basically! It became a bit too much after a few spoonfuls though, it's definitely a sugar overload. I imagine it'd be great on waffles, toast, crumpets and what have you...

Overall, a fantastic new spread from Cadbury that finally does the Cadbury Caramel brand some justice. I do think a touch of "real" caramel swirled in would make it even more scrummy, but as mainstream caramel spreads go this is probably one of the best you'll get. A definite win from me!

8 out of 10. 

Cadbury Caramel spread is gluten-free and suitable for vegetarians, and contains 87 calories per 15g. 

Wednesday, 25 May 2016

Lucozade Zero Orange Review

lucozade zero orange

Following on from my review of the new Lucozade Zero Pink Lemonade yesterday, today we have Lucozade Zero Orange. I never thought I'd be so interested in these new zero calorie drinks from Lucozade, after all Lucozade is a high sugar energy drink but the Pink Lemonade surprised me in being so nice that I had to give this one a try too! I haven't had a regular orange Lucozade for years now despite loving them as a child, so how does this sugar free version stack up?


Well, it tastes surprisingly similar to regular orange Luzozade to be honest, despite the lack of glucose. Maybe I'm just used to lower sugar food and drinks now but the flavour was spot on, it has that intense zingy orange flavour and somehow feels "heavier" than a regular orangey fizzy drink. It contains orange juice concentrate as well as artificial sweeteners, and has 3.8 calories per 100ml which means it's allowed to be labelled as calorie free (hey, I don't make the rules!)

Overall, colour me surprised with these new Lucozade Zero varients. Both are very refreshing and tasty drinks in their own right, I'm not bothered whether they're as good as regular Lucozade to be honest because I no longer drink it, these taste good and are low in sugar which is what really matters. I can definitely see myself buying these again for a refreshing pick-me-up!

8.5 out of 10.

Tuesday, 24 May 2016

Lucozade Zero Pink Lemonade Review

lucozade zero pink lemonade

Apparently this is the year that sugar-free drinks become trendy...who would have guessed that cutting out sugar could become a trend?! Of course, I've been trying to cut back on it for ages now, and according to surveys lots of Brits want more reduced sugar products, so Lucozade have come to the rescue with this new Lucozade Zero. It isn't strictly "sugar free" as it contains naturally occuring fruit sugars, but there's no extra added and it isn't loaded with glucose syrup like regular ol' Lucozade. So what makes it Lucozade then, since the selling point of Lucozade is glucose?

lucozade zero pink lemonade

To be honest, I'm not sure and I don't really care...this is a mighty refreshing drink! I haven't had pink lemonade in ages as I usually avoid sweetened fizzy drinks, but this doesn't taste like any pink lemonade I've had before, it's actually nicer. It has a lovely refreshing fruity flavour, it's sweet enough but not too sweet. The sweetness comes from a mixture of lemon, cranberry and raspberry juices as well as artificial sweeteners. I paid £1 for a 500ml bottle at Tesco which is a bit steep, but to be honest this was so refreshing I don't really mind at all.

Overall, despite the fact that zero calorie Lucozade is a bit of an oxymoron, this is a very refreshing fizzy drink and one I'd heartily recommend. I shall be seeking out the orange variety next! 

8.5 out of 10.

Sunday, 22 May 2016

Montezuma's Dark Chocolate Orange & Geranium Bar

montezumas dark chocolate orange and geranium

I used to bemoan the lack of interesting flavours in UK confectionery, but since I started this blog there's been an ever-increasing range of new, unique and interesting bars finding their way into shops. You have to seek them out, but they are there! The Chocolate Smiths are one company that spring to mind with their endless limited edition wacky flavours (see a review of The Bacon Bizarre here from my SW pal), but one company I never expected to do something so unusual is Montezuma's. I've tried a few of their bars before but I was never too impressed, the quality of the chocolate is good but it didn't quite justify the higher price tags in my opinion. However when I saw this Geranium & Orange dark chocolate bar on offer in Sainsbury's recently I thought this is something I have to try, even though pairing flower oil with chocolate is weird it might also...be nice? After all, Earl Grey tea works like a charm even though it really shouldn't!


The dark chocolate is organic and contains 73% cocoa solids, as well as organic sugar and vanilla. It also contains orange oil and geranium oil, both which aren't organic but are GM free. The bar is also suitable for vegans, although may contain traces of dairy, nuts and seeds.

The chocolate has a strong floral citrusy aroma, I couldn't decide if I liked it or not, it verges a little too much on the flowery side but I put aside my assumptions and took a bite...

At first, I screwed my face up a little. I wasn't sure I liked this at all. It had a very strong flowery taste which of course I'm not used to. Then as I chewed it, the orange flavouring came in with the aftertaste, and I started to find it quite pleasant and warming. The more I ate of this bar the more acclimatised to it I got, it's definitely very bold but it was somehow alluring and actually quite nice once you get over the intial weirdness of the flavour.

Overall, this is definitely an acquired taste. It's not something I'd recommend to the average chocolate consumer at all, but if you like to keep things interesting and adapt your tastebuds...I challenge you to give it a try! The chocolate is good quality dark chocolate, definitely a step up from the likes of Lindt. I'd be interested to see Montezuma's take on Earl Grey tea in bar form, I imagine that would work quite well...

8 out of 10.

Goodfella's Gluten Free Pepperoni, Mushroom & Ham Pizza

goodfellas gluten free pizza

So today's review is for something I don't think I've ever featured on the blog before...pizza! The Gluten Free sort, obviously!

Pizza is something I've missed very sorely since going gluten free, there's not many good brands of it around and although Pizza Hut and Pizza Express do some respectable options, sometimes you just want one you can pop in the oven at home! So when I found this new Gluten Free pizza from Goodfella's I was very pleased indeed. I bought this on offer from Tesco in the Free From section, I believe it was around £2 at the time. It contains pepperoni, mushroom and ham on a gluten free pizza base with tomato and cheese.

goodfellas gluten free pizza

Above is what it looked like frozen before cooking...

goodfellas gluten free pizza

And here's the end result: not too shabby for a frozen pizza! It tasted pretty good, there was a nice amount of mushroom, pepperoni and ham although I did feel it could have done with a touch more mozzarella. In hindsight I wish I'd bought some extra to throw on. The base was quite crunchy, more so than I'd have liked but that's common with gluten free pizzas. All in all it was pretty good and definitely one of the better frozen gluten free pizzas I've tried thus far.

Overall, a respectable gluten free pizza from Goodfella's, definitely worth checking out if you have to avoid gluten. Nothing yet beats Pizza Hut or Pizza Express though!

8 out of 10. 

Saturday, 21 May 2016

Klik Choco Kid Bar Review


There's always something new and interesting in the World Foods section of Tesco, usually the prices are far too high but one that caught my eye that was affordable recently was this Klik Choco Kid bar. When I posted a pic of this on Instagram there was a lot of interest, I didn't realize this bar was so popular, so I thought I'd see what the fuss is about!


I love the shape of the bar, removing it from the wrapper revealed a bubbled design, a little similar to the now discontinued Dairy Milk Bubbly bars.


The bar contains a milk creme filling, which is presumably what makes it for kids. The actual chocolate was very sweet and like any standard milk chocolate, but the milk creme was even sweeter and overpowered everything else. It didnt really taste of much and wasn't a fine milk filling like what you get in Lindt Milk Creme, but clearly a cheaper recipe. It was ok but not one of the most enbjoyable chocolate bars around. Shame, because it looked so cool!

Overall, this isn't something worth seeking out but it does have a cool design. I'd be interested in trying more products from the Klik brand, they do some crunchy bites at Tesco that look a bit more appealing.

7 out of 10.

Thursday, 19 May 2016

Tesco Free From White Choc Bar Review

tesco free from white choc bar

There's a lot of new Free From products coming out in the supermarkets at the moment; Tesco, M&S & Morrisons have all stepped up their game, and as well as gluten free products there's been a lot of new Dairy Free stuff too. Which is handy if you're lactose intolerant or vegan! So bravo to good old Tesco for bringing our this new Dairy Free White Chocolate bar...surely it's the vegan answer to that classic white bar known as Nestle Milkybar?!

tesco free from white choc bar

Opening the wrapper it was certainly remiscent of a Milkybar, with its thin shape and breakable pieces, and a creamy sweet aroma. The chocolate contains maize flour in place of milk solids as well as inulin, maltodextrin, coconut oil and of course cocoa butter. It cost 45p for a 35g bar which is decent value.

tesco free from white choc bar

Taste-wise, well it's not quite the same level of creaminess as a Milkybar but it's a still nice creamy bar in its own right, the cocoa butter makes it very melt in the mouth and it's quite smooth, but it does have an odd aftertaste that presumably comes from the maize flour. It's a decent dairy free bar, but I'm not sure it's as good as other brands that use rice milk in place of the dairy.

Overall, this is a decent value dairy free chocolate bar from Tesco, and perfect for a sweet creamy hit if you're avoiding dairy.

7.5 out of 10.

Wednesday, 18 May 2016

Kind Nuts & Spices Caramel Almond & Sea Salt Bar (Tesco)

kind snacks caramel almond sea salt

There's a lot of competition in the "healthy" snack bar market these days, from Nakd, Primal Pantry, Eat Natural, Meridian, etc., but one new brand that caught my eye recently is "Kind Snacks Nuts & Spices". They're a US company that were recently involved in a dispute with the FDA over using the word "healthy" on their products. According to the FDA this is because the bars contain high amounts of fat, even though it's the heathy type of fat from nuts and seeds. Personally I think this is ridiculous, fat isn't unhealthy by itself but rather it's the added sugars that make it unhealthy...still, we must follow these silly "powers that be" I suppose!

kind snacks caramel almond sea salt

Although these bars do contain sugars, they're a heck of a lot less than any chocolate bar and even most fruit based snack bars. This "Caramel, Almond & Sea Salt" variety is gluten free, high fibre, contains 63% nuts and is bound together with honey and glucose syrup. It contains whole almonds, sea salt and a drizzle of caramel flavour coating.

kind snacks caramel almond sea salt bar

The bar is very crunchy, the syrup coating makes it almost toffee like, so it's a bit different to most other bars of this type. I really liked it, the almonds feel fresher in their whole form, and the caramel coating and seasalt both bring a delicious sweet and savoury kick. It was very satisfying and filling, and not too sugary sweet.

Overall, I have to say I'm rather impressed with Kind Snacks, this is a bar that manages to be tasty and satisfying without a massive sugar rush along with it. I'd happily buy it again, and may indeed end up doing so since my local Tesco express stocks these!

8 out of 10. 

Fox's Candy Bear Polar Bears

Foxs candy bear sweets

Last year Fox's launched a new range of gluten free gummy sweets under the "Candy Bear" name. I was really excited by these since regular gummy sweets can use glucose syrup derived from wheat (boo!) but these are assured to be completely gluten free (the glucose syrup is instead derived from corn). They Candy Bear range has been in Home Bargains for a mere 50p a bag recently, which is a great bargain but it does suggest that maybe the range is being axed from mainstream stores. I do hope not!

I've tried a few varieties including the cool "Ice Burgers" where you can create your own gummy burgers, but sadly there's so pics (I ate them pretty quickly) so these Polar Bears will have to do!

Foxes candy bear sweets

They're basically gummy sweets containing extra fruit juice, making them a lot fruiter than your average gummy sweet. They're a bit softer than Haribo, and much more flavoursome and fruity. I really enjoyed them and ate a few too many at once...they're so moreish!

Overall, these are some tasty gummy sweets and I do hope they stick around on shelves. For now though, you can find these for the bargainous price of just 50p in Home Bargains, but Poundstretcher also sell them and some WH Smiths might still have them if you're lucky.

8 out of 10.

Tuesday, 17 May 2016

Itsu Coconut Crunch Coconut Chips

Itsu coconut crunch coconut chips

I'm a huge fan of anything coconutty, from chocolate to ice cream to coconut milk...but one new trend I'm a little unsure of is coconut "savoury" snacks. I've previously reviewed Ape Coconut Curls which were flavoured with salt and pepper, and although they were ok they were indeed a little odd as a savoury snack. So how does this Itsu version compare? 

Itsu coconut crunch coconut chips

For £1.10 at Waitrose I got a box containing 17g of lightly salted coconut chips, which really isn't very good value for money. I was hoping they'd be very tasty and good quality for paying so much for so little. 

Itsu coconut crunch coconut chips

Thankfully they were indeed very tasty. There's 0.5% sea salt which is just enough to give them a nice savoury edge, and they were very crunchy and moreish, but I have to be honest it did feel weird eating something that's supposed to be sweet as a savoury snack. I still think the Crisp Coconut chips from Holland and Barrett are the best around, they're excellent value for money and you can use them as either a sweet or savoury snack as you wish. 

Overall, these coconut chips from Itsu are a nice handy snack if you're trying to be healthy, but they're not the best value around. 

7.5 out of 10.

Monday, 16 May 2016

Ritter Sport 73% Fine Extra Dark Chocolate

Ritter sport fine extra dark chocolate

After all the gluten free goodness of Coeliac Awareness week I thought I'd start this week with a good old chocolate review...what else?!

I'm a huge fan of Ritter Sport chocolate, even though it's hard to source some of the more interesting bars from the range here in the UK. Lidl is the best supplier; they do huge Ritter Sport slabs at a very reasonable price (I'd highly recommend the Praline bar!), but some of the smaller bars are a bit harder to find. By chance, I spotted a load of them in Heron Foods, a discount frozen food store, and they were on offer of two for a pound. This is a ridiculous bargain, so naturally I snapped up a load! One that I'd never heard of before was this 73% Fine Dark bar "with fine cocoa from Ecuador". I do love me some fine dark chocolate so I was excited to try it! 

Fitter sport fine extra dark chocolate

The blocks on this one are very interesting, they're a lot smaller and quite pointy compared to the blocks on an average Ritter sport bar, which somehow makes it feel even more special. I guess they're made to be eaten in a smaller amount since this is finer quality dark chocolate.

Ritter sport fine extra dark chocolate

The chocolate tasted very rich indeed, with a woody sort of flavour that you'd expect from better quality chocolate. It was certainly nicer than some other 70% cocoa chocolates I've eaten. It felt a lot more satisfying than a regular bar and as such I didn't want to eat the whole thing at once, I just nibbled on it through the day. 

Overall, this is a good new bar from Ritter Sport, I'm not sure where you can buy them now, I've only seen them in Wh Smiths briefly but they disappeared from there quite fast. If anyone has tried or spotted these, please do let me know! 

8 out of 10.

Sunday, 15 May 2016

Marks & Spencer Made Without Wheat Strawberry Trifle

marks and spencer made without wheat strawberry trifle

So Coeliac Awareness Week is drawing to a close, but don't worry there's still plenty more Gluten Free reviews to come! Today's treat is this "Made Without Wheat Gluten Free Strawberry Trifle" from Marks & Spencer. It's one of the many gluten free goodies added to their "Made Without Wheat" range recently.

I haven't eaten Trifle in years, but it used to be a staple in our household every Christmas. Since I've been gluten free I've gradually started craving it more and more, but alas no supermarkets made a Gluten Free trifle...until now. Thanks, M&S! Please keep up the good work :)

This trifle contains all the usual stuff, fresh cream, a layer of creamy custard, strawberry compote, and soft sponge pieces...but gluten free, of course!

marks and spencer made without wheat strawberry trifle

I scooped out a nice portion into a bowl, I'm not sure how many it's meant to serve, but just over a quarter seemed fair to me...

marks and spencer made without wheat strawberry trifle

Taking a mouthful, I have to say it tastes just as yummy as any other M&S Trifle! It's the perfect mixture of fresh cream, vanilla custard, fruity strawberry and soft sponge. The flavours all go perfectly together, but of course it's extremely rich because of the cream. I didn't actually feel like eating too much of it, just the one portion was very filling and satisfying.

Overall, M&S have created another winner with this Gluten Free Trifle! It's everything you'd want in a trifle, only gluten free, so now us neglected Gluten Free folks can enjoy it too. Hurrah for food equality!

8.5 out of 10.

Saturday, 14 May 2016

Tesco Free From Toffee And Vanilla Cones Review

tesco free from toffee and vanilla cones

Coeliac Awareness week has nearly come to a close, but you can still expect the Gluten Free reviews to keep on coming...I've got a big stash in the archives! Today's treat is not only Gluten Free, but Dairy Free too and also suitable for vegans.

I love Tesco's Strawberry & Vanilla Free From Ice Cream cones, and I always buy them when I'm in the mood for cone ice creams, and recently I spotted a new variety in my local Tesco...Toffee and Vanilla. Straight into my basket they went! Like the Strawberry variety these cost £2 a box, and contain 4 gluten free cones filled with dairy free vanilla and caramel ice creams, a caramel flavour sauce and a topping of toffee pieces. The ice cream is made with lupin protein, which is derived from a type of legume. I'd never heard of it before so did a quick google...apparently it can cause allergic reactions in sensitive individuals, so please be wary of these if you're sensitive to legumes and peanuts (click here for a list of the ingredients).

tesco free from toffee and vanilla cones

Opening the pack the ice cream had a lovely toffee aroma, and looked just like a Cornetto! Taking a bite, the ice cream was very creamy and soft, and not as sickly sweet as regular dairy ice cream. I liked this as it felt fresher and less cloying and heavy. The caramel flavour was strong and sweet, with the crunchy toffee pieces on top adding a nice crunchy bite. The sauce was lovely and I didn't realize that it ran right to the bottom of the cone! I bit off the end and it was oozing out - just look at that caramel!:

tesco free from toffee and vanilla cones

Overall, these are some pretty tasty gluten and dairy free ice creams from Tesco, some of the best I've had in fact; it's mighty hard to find decent ones so I'm glad Tesco are adding new varieties to their range. These don't beat the Strawberry & Vanilla variety which are hands down the best, but they're still very yummy and ones I would buy again.  

Tesco have also done some Free From Magnum-style Chocolate Ice Creams, which I'll be reviewing in the near future, so do stay tuned for that! 

8 out of 10.

Friday, 13 May 2016

M&S Gluten Free New York Cheesecake

Marks Spencer gluten free cheesecake

It's Coeliac Awareness Week right now, and although I'm not diagnosed as Coeliac myself I am very sensitive to gluten, so I've been trying out a lot of the fantastic new Made Without Wheat products from Marks & Spencer recently. M&S really are the best at Gluten Free stuff, I find them much better than most other supermarket ranges. They have a great choice of gluten free cakes, muffins, slices, pies, puddings...and more besides. I'm yet to see them do a gluten free pizza though...*hint hint* M&S! 

One thing I've really missed since going gluten free, and that you can't find in any supermarket for love nor money is Gluten Free Cheesecake. It's such a simple thing to make, yet no one but M&S has produced one (hopefully that will change!) So I was ridiculously excited when I found this! It's a baked vanilla "New York Style" Cheesecake with a gluten free biscuit base. 

Marks Spencer gluten free cheesecake

I popped the cheesecake out of its plastic tray carefully, and slid it onto a plate. It had a gorgeous, tangy vanilla aroma that brought back all my happy memories of eating cheesecake before going gluten free. Yum! 

Marks Spencer gluten free cheesecake

I cut off a slice (or two!) and took a bite. Yum, this is one tasty cheesecake! It's a typical dense cheesecake filling, tasting creamy, fresh and slightly tangy, with s strong vanilla edge. The base is lovely and crunchy and compliments it perfectly. I promptly cut off another slice and enjoyed it with coffee...it felt so good to eat cheesecake again after so long! 

Overall, this is a lovely Gluten Free Cheesecake, and the first I've seen in a UK supermarket, so bravo to M&S for leading the way! I hope to see some flavoured varieties in the future...maybe strawberry or caramel? (Fingers crossed!)

8 out of 10.