Thursday, 31 March 2016

Tic Tac Popcorn (Limited Edition)

Tic Tac popcorn

When I heard about these new Popcorn flavour Tic Tacs thanks to Grocery Gems I was a bit overly excited to find them...Popcorn is an unusual flavour variation and I was curious how it would work in practice. These cost me 65p, which is about standard for Tic Tacs although I'm sure you can get them cheaper elsewhere. 

This is a limited edition flavour for the UK, but it's also available in other countries and seems to be rather popular...I searched for them on Instagram, and the amount of hand selfies would make a Snacks Warrior blush! So I've decided to go against the trend and am providing zero hand-selfies this time! (boo!) 

Tic Tac popcorn

These Tic Tacs are basically very sweet and have a strong artificial popcorn flavour. At first I kind of enjoyed it, but then there's this aftertaste that tastes too much like toasted corn...it's very weird, and I found it quite sickly to be honest. I can't deny that these taste like what they're meant to, but in this case that's not such a good thing in my opinion. 

Overall, this is a unique idea for a limited edition flavour but it's not something I'd buy again. I'll stick to the fruity Tic Tacs in future! 

6 out of 10.

Wednesday, 30 March 2016

Perfect World A Taste of Carrot Cake Ice Cream

Perfect world carrot cake ice cream

I loooove carrot cake, but sadly I haven't eaten a lot of it since I went gluten-free. Most supermarkets do gluten-free versions but I find them rather dry and am often left disappointed. Boo! So when I saw this new ice cream from Perfect World in Tesco recently I got rather excited; carrot cake combined with ice cream sounds like it might potentially solve the dryness issue!

Alas, this Ice Cream doesn't contain any pieces of carrot cake, but it does have a whole lot of other good things going for it. It's dairy free (but not egg-free, so isn't suitable for vegans, sadly), it contains no added sugar; it's made with a mixture of xylitol, erythyritol and stevia instead. It's also high in vitamin A, Vegetarian Society Approved and suitable for diabetics. That's pretty good going...who knew ice cream could be nutritious?!

Perfect world carrot cake ice cream

The description reads "A non-dairy carrot cake flavoured frozen dessert with sultanas (6%), walnuts (4%) and sweeteners". I paid £3.50 for a tub in Tesco, but you can also buy them from Holland & Barrett stores which sell the Chocolate Brownie and Loads of Strawberry varieties. They're also available from Ocado.com.

Perfect world carrot cake ice cream

Of course, all of these health credentials would mean zilch if the ice cream didn't taste any good...so what is the all-important Kev's Verdict? Dun dun dun....

It's actually a very tasty ice cream! It's a bit different to what I was expecting, it's sweeter than I imagined, but it feels lighter in the mouth than dairy ice cream. This is a good thing as it means I didn't get a heavy feeling in my tummy after eating it, also it wasn't a massive sugar rush despite being pleasantly sweet. It had a good spiced flavour, with the mixed spices and carrot coming through, and a nice texture from the sultanas and walnuts.

Overall, this Perfect World ice cream gets a thumbs-up from me! I like that it's dairy free as well as refined sugar free, it tastes healthier and feels lighter, whilst still making you feel like you've had a sweet treat. That's a hard task to accomplish, so bravo to Perfect World for achieving it!

8.5 out of 10. 

Tuesday, 29 March 2016

Marks & Spencer Crazy Orange Loaded Bar

Marks and Spencer crazy orange loaded

Not content with the rather funky and tasty White, Milk & Dark Chocolate bar they brought out last year, Marks & Spencer have expanded their chocolate range further to include this rather cool looking "Crazy Orange Loaded" bar. Whilst the name is a bit clunky, the bar design is rather fantastic...it's reminiscent of the Cadbury Marvellous Creations bars with their irregular blocks, but a lot more elegant:


Also similar to Marvellous Creations, it contains a mix of different sweets; orange chocolate beans, tangy orange jelly pieces, and milk chocolate nibs. As if this wasn't enough, the chocolate is orange flavoured and contains a top layer of milk chocolate and a bottom layer of dark chocolate.

Marks and Spencer crazy orange bar

This was definitely an interesting bar. I really enjoyed the orange flavour, it's lovely and refreshing, and much nicer than Terry's Chocolate Orange. The chocolate beans added some extra orangey crunch whilst the jellies were chewier and tangier...I'm not sure they worked with the other ingredients really, but the texture was nice nonetheless. I have to be honest though, I wasn't a fan of the dark chocolate layer. I felt it detracted from the orangey milk chocolatey-ness too much; I'd have preferred it if it was all milk chocolate. Nevertheless, this is is still a very tasty bar and it went down well with a cup of coffee!

Marks and Spencer crazy orange loaded bar

Overall, if you're a chocolate orange fan this is definitely one to look out for! M&S are really upping their game with their chocolate range recently, it's been great to see these unique bars and I look forward to seeing what else they've got in store.

8 out of 10. 

Saturday, 26 March 2016

Bounty Spread with Coconut Flakes


This will just be a quick review today of this Bounty Spread with Coconut Flakes...for a more in-depth technical analysis see the Snacks Warriors review.

I saw this on offer along with the Milky Way variety in Tesco for £1.50 recently, and since I haven't been able to try the new Twix Spread as it contains gluten (boo!) I thought I'd drown my snacks sorrows and splurge on this instead. I've always been curious what Bounty in spread form might taste like...now I wish I hadn't!


It just didn't live up to its name to be honest. It's a sickly, milky spread with the addition of a small percentage of coconut flakes. Initially I thought it would be white chocolate, but no, it's just a milk spread. I don't know why they didn't make it milk chocolate since Bounty bars contain milk chocolate? Puzzling...

Overall, this is a sickly, unhealthy concoction of milky vegetable fat that doesn't do Bounty bars justice....I won't be purchasing again.

5 out of 10.

Thursday, 24 March 2016

Lindt White Chocolate Gold Bunny


The Easter Bunny had been early in my household and she goes by the name of the Snack Warrior...yes, a big thankyou to the lovely Reaching For Refreshment who just celebrated her one year Bloggerversary for sending me some Easter goodies recently!

She knows I'm a sucker for anything sweet, so I bow down to her for sending me this White Chocolate Lindt Gold Bunny. I can't eat regular Lindt Gold Bunnies as I'm allergic to the barley malt they put in the chocolate (why they do this I have no idea!), so this white version is a godsend for anyone with gluten issues.


He is without doubt one of the best Easter bunnies around, cute and shiny with his little bell. I haven't taken photos of him broken apart...I think that would be rather cruel and trauma inducing...but needless to say he tasted DEE LICIOUS! Lindt really do know how to make great white chocolate; it's the creamiest, smoothest one around from a commercial company, kicking the arse of Milkybar any day. It also has a lovely welcoming vanilla edge to it, making it so moreish. I had to be careful not to get too carried away though as I often do when scoffing chocolate...this one was a bit too nice!

Overall, this Lindt White Gold Bunny gets a huge thumbs up from me, if you can't eat the regular Gold Bunnies due to the barley malt this is a great alternative! A huge sloppy thankyou to the lovely Snacks Warrior for sending me this, and here's to wishing all my readers a very Happy Choccy Filled Easter!

9 out of 10.

Wednesday, 23 March 2016

Marks & Spencer Espresso Coffee Kick Bars


Coffee is amazing. Fact. So is chocolate. Combine the two together? Perfection! But what happens when you remove the cocoa solids and replace them with ground coffee? Let's find out!

M&S have created what must be a first for the UK market, a coffee and cocoa butter concoction that "melts in the mouth like chocolate but has a coffee kick". Why they haven't called it mochalate I don't know...I suppose it wouldn't roll off the tongue easily!

The ingredients comprise of cocoa butter, sugar, ground coffee (29%) and soya lecithin. For £2.50 you get 5 small bars; each 12g bar contains 45mg caffeine which is equivalent to half a 30ml M&S dark roast espresso.

When I saw these in M&S I noticed there was also a latte variety, but as a lover of intense rather than milky coffee there was no doubt these would be ending up in my basket!


I ate my bar with a cup of coffee (what else?!) to intensify the experience further and tucked in.

Taking a bite, I was met with a very smooth and sweet coffee flavour that melted in the mouth easily. I'm torn over what to think over this...I'm so used to real chocolate it's hard to compare. It certainly gives you a nice caffeine boost and tastes very rich, but the sugar and cocoa butter kind of make it feel watered down. I feel it would've been better to include cocoa solids along with the ground coffee to be honest.

Overall, this is a nice idea from M&S and I did enjoy it for what it is. It gives you a nice caffeine boost in bar form and it's a bit different and unique, but I think I'll stick to consuming my caffeine in liquid form from here on.

Stay tuned for a review of the latte variety!

7.5 out of 10.

Tuesday, 22 March 2016

Cadbury Creme Egg Ice Creams (Limited Edition)


I'm not sure what makes the recipe for these limited edition Cadbury Creme egg ice creams "new" exactly as I don't recall having eaten them before...perhaps the inclusion of "goo" is new? I'm not sure but if anyone knows please leave a comment!

Anyway for the sake of keeping up my Easter spirits I thought I'd give these a try when I spotted them for £2 a box in the Co Op recently. You get three individually wrapped ice creams per box, and they look a bit like magnums, but rather misshapen.


There's supposedly extra space on the sides to hold the Creme egg filling, but I think Cadbury's just couldn't be bothered to invest in decent moulds to be honest...they look weird and lumpy:


Not one to let such trivialities stop sugar getting in my mouth, I promptly took a bite, expecting vanilla fondant goodness. But I didn't really get any. Initially all I could taste was the rather plain ice cream, which wasn't very distinctive or flavoursome. The chocolate coating had a faint taste of Cadbury chocolate but was very sweet and non-descript. Eventually, I found some gooey Creme egg fondant, which was nice and sticky in texture and brought a welcome vanilla edge...but overall this ice cream was a bit sweet and one-dimensional.


It's no secret that Creme eggs aren't what they used to be, so it's no surprise that these Creme egg ice creams aren't really upto much either. Don't get me wrong they're not the worst around, but they're not that special...they're just a bit "meh" and don't do the Easter season justice.

We deserve better...anyone for a Hot Cross Bun Ice Cream?!

6 out of 10.

Monday, 21 March 2016

Nestle Black Magic Mini Eggs


I spotted these new Black Magic mini eggs in Wilkinsons recently, and for the sake of trying a mini egg that's hopefully a bit richer than the sickly sweet stuff Cadbury's put out I thought I'd give them a whirl. They're £1.50 a bag, and contain foil-wrapped plain chocolate mini eggs with a softer dark chocolate truffle centre.


They're pretty bland to be honest. The dark chocolate tastes kinda awful, almost stale and woody as Nestle's dark chocolate tends to be, whilst the filling is just a waxier variation of the same thing. These aren't true "dark" chocolates of course, I forget the exact percentage but I'm sure it was below 50%. The only redeeming feature is that these aren't a sickly sweet sugar overload like Mini Eggs or Creme Eggs.


Overall, these are a bit pointless really in my opinion, there's Lindt 70% cocoa mini eggs out there (Tesco sell them) so I'd say stick with those instead if you famcy a dark chocolatey fix this Easter!

6 out of 10. 

Sunday, 20 March 2016

Dairyfine Mini Chocolate Eggs (Aldi)


As many of you may know (well those of us who review snacks as a hobby anyway) Cadbury's Easter products are a bit rubbish now. Creme Eggs no longer use Dairy Milk chocolate (and sales have fallen as a result), sizes have shrunk, vegetable fats have been added, and their Mini Eggs are now a code word for sugar bombs. Nevertheless they're still the gold standard for crunchy coated chocolate mini eggs, they've somehow managed to perfect this Easter treat.

I still keep searching for something better quality though. I've tried the Chicky Choccy Mini Eggs from Marks and Spencer (reviewed by Mrs One Treat here), which were good quality but still lacked the "it" factor that makes Cadbury Mini Eggs so special. So the search has continued, and has led me to Aldi!

These Dairyfine Mini Eggs are one of Aldi's "clones" of famous brands; Dairyfine is clearly supposed to be their version Dairy Milk, so I thought it'd be interesting to see how these compare to Cadbury's mini eggs.


Sadly they're not too great...they're just as sugary sweet as Cadbury mini eggs, but the chocolate lacks the creaminess that makes the Cadbury version tolerable. The crunchy shell just tastes of pure sugar and the chocolate isn't much better... I didn't enjoy these at all to be honest, they're far too sweet and made my teeth hurt.

Sadly, these won't be bothering the Cadbury Mini Egg crown. They're perfectly fine for decorating cupcakes, Easter nests and what have you, but as a treat by themselves they're too sweet. The search for better quality Mini Eggs continues...

6 out of 10.

Friday, 18 March 2016

Butterkist Hot Cross Bun Flavour Popcorn


Finally, it's here, the elusive new Hot Cross Bun flavour Easter limited edition from Butterkist, hurrah! These are currently available from B&M bargain stores, Home Bargains, and now Aldi too. I saw this in Aldi just the other day for 99p so couldn't resist picking up a bag.

It's described as "popcorn coated with a bun spice flavour toffee" and contains 150g per bag. It certainly smelled very zesty and spicy, with a strong citrusy mixed peel aroma. I've heard mixed things about the taste from other bloggers so I wasn't sure what to expect, but thankfully I'm pleased to say I really enjoyed this popcorn a lot! 


At first I was a bit skeptical. As I scooped out a handful and crunched on it I didn't notice a particularly strong bun spice flavour, but it seems that the flavour hasn't been evenly distributed and some popcorn pieces tasted stronger than others. The thicker toffee coated pieces tasted lovely, very sweet and spicy and to be quite honest, as silly as it sounds I'd say this popcorn really does taste like Easter! The spicy citrusy sweetness works surprisingly well with popcorn, and it's good that it's incorporated into the toffee... I don't think a powdered coating would've worked so well.

Overall, I'm really glad I tried this Easter edition from Butterkist and I think it's great they're trying interesting new flavours like this. This and the new Yogurt Coated variety are both great additions to the popcorn market and ones I'd happily buy regularly. Keep an eye out for this!

8 out of 10.

Tuesday, 15 March 2016

Cadbury Dairy Milk Silk (South African)


There's been a lot of new Cadbury products lately, so when I spotted this "Dairy Milk Silk" bar in Poundland I first assumed it was another Dairy Milk variation Mondelez were throwing at the UK market. However on closer inspection I found that it's actually made in France, for Mondelez South Africa. What it's doing in British Poundland stores is anyone's guess, but in the name of Snacks Science I had to give it a try!


With a name like "Silk" I thought perhaps it was a creamier variation of regular Dairy Milk, because why else would they attach it to the name? Turns out, it tastes exactly the same as regular Dairy Milk, in fact it was somewhat inferior to regular British Dairy Milk, which is saying something since ours is pretty rubbish these days! 


I'm putting the difference in taste down to the ratio of ingredients, this bar is obviously produced for a hotter climate hence a different melting point, so I'll forgive them the lesser taste. The chocolate contains a mixture of cows milk, cocoa and vegetable fats just like British Dairy Milk although the wrapper doesn't state the exact proportions. 


Overall, this isn't a bar I'd recommend at all unless you're a wrapper collector, the taste is inferior to British Dairy Milk which is widely available, so quite why it's currently in Poundland stores I have no idea...must be a batch they want rid of! 

Have you tried Dairy Milk Silk? If so let me know in the comments! 

Monday, 14 March 2016

Galaxy Duet Toffee and Popcorn


When I first heard about this new Galaxy Duet flavour I was rather excited; I haven't been able to try the other flavours in the Duet range since they contain gluten, but luckily this one doesn't...hurrah! It also sounded a bit unique and different for a chocolate bar: it contains a layer of toffee caramel down one side and a mixture of crunchy toffee and popcorn pieces down the other.

Since this was my first time trying a Duet bar I was surprised by the shape: it's two thin chocolate fingers stuck together, but isn't sectioned into chunks so you can bite into both at the same time (the hand selfie returns...careful you don't faint Snacks Warrior!):


I took a bite from one end and got a nice mix of both the caramel and popcorn sections. The caramel was lovely and gooey and pretty similar to what you get in a regular Galaxy Caramel. The popcorn was a bit undetectable to be honest; there was a vague sweet and savoury crunch from it but nothing that screamed "popcorn!" to me. It tasted pleasant enough, and made for a nice textural variation next to the caramel, but it felt a bit insubstantial.


Overall, this isn't a bad chocolate bar from Galaxy, it's a nice idea to give you two textures and flavours together, but the fillings are a bit off. This flavour will no doubt be very popular but it's not something I'd buy again personally. I'd like to see something a bit more daring and imaginative from the Duet range; perhaps something fruity!

7 out of 10. 

Sunday, 13 March 2016

Chocologic No Added Sugar Milk Chocolate


Last year I reviewed the Dark Chocolate Chocologic bar and was a bit down with it, but a lower sugar version of a milk chocolate bar? Now that makes a bit more sense! The Chocologic range, which includes a hazelnut bar as well as Dark Chocolate is on offer at the moment in Tesco for £1 a pop, so I decided to give this Milk variety a go and see what the fuss is about.

 

It contains 60% less sugar than standard milk chocolate, which is pretty good going. It's sweetened with a mixture of stevia and inulin fibres, as well as milk of course. I like that it's foil-wrapped, that's not something you see often with chocolate bars these days.


Taste-wise it wasn't too bad for a lower sugar milk chocolate. It has a nice milky flavour and because of the lower sugar content isn't as throat burningly sweet, letting the milk shine through more. It's not exactly a luxury chocolate hit but if you're on a low carb diet this will definitely feel like a treat. The stevia is mild and thankfully doesn't leave an aftertaste as some stevia products can.

Overall, a decent bar of chocolate if you're watching you're sugar intake or on a low-carb diet, but probably not for everyone else.

7.5 out of 10. 

Saturday, 12 March 2016

Butterkist Yogurt Coated Popcorn


Recently Butterkist announced two new Popcorn varieties, one is the elusive Hot Cross Buns Easter variety, and the other is this Yogurt Coated variety. This is apparently a "first" in the popcorn world, no yogurt coated mass-produced popcorn has been made before, so claim Butterkist.

I found these in Poundland with the rest of the Butterkist Popcorn range, and for £1 you get 160g popcorn which is pretty reasonable (the RRP is £1.49).


Basically it's very sweet, creamy coated popcorn with a slightly yogurty tang. It tasted more sweet than tangy to me which is definitely a good thing, and I was under no illusion at all that these were a "healthy" snack despite the yogurt! (Though we can of course pretend!) It was very moreish and the lighter, less sugary taste of the yogurt coating made it easier to eat than regular sugary Toffee Popcorn.

Overall, these are a great new addition to the ever-growing Popcorn market, they're very moreish and perfect for the cinema, but don't bother sharing them as they're far too addictive! Now, to find the elusive Hot Cross Bun flavour...

8 out of 10. 

Thursday, 10 March 2016

Nestle Aero Mousse Caramel Bar


I wasn't too interested in trying this New Aero Mousse Caramel variety when I first heard about it, not after the boringness that was the original Aero Mousse Bar I reviewed last year. However for the sake of saying "I tried it" I decided to give it a whirl when I spotted it in a random newsagents recently, and thank goodness I do give things another chance because it turned out to be a rather tasty (if not very tiny) chocolate bar!


For 75p (!) you get a mere 34g of chocolate, and it's not even all chocolate, a large proportion of it is vegetable fat. Despite this, Nestle have had the audacity to list the calories of a mere mouthful of the bar (half!) on the front of the wrapper, and the back even says "re-close to save some for later". I'm sorry Nestle, but no sane person is likely to do that when there's barely enough chocolate to feed a mouse!

On the wrapper the bar is described as "smooth milk chocolate filled with bubbly milk chocolate and a layer of aerated caramel flavour chocolate mousse". That's a lot of air you're paying 75p for!


I broke the bar in half (97 calories, FYI) and took a bite. And it tasted delicious! This was a huge surprise because I wasn't expecting much from this at all...the caramel mousse had a strong, butterscotch-like burnt caramel flavour that was seriously moreish! I promptly ate the other half/mouthful since the first was gone in no time at all, savouring every bite since the experience was clearly going to be over very quickly!

Well, what can I say, this is an extremely tasty bar that gives you a delicious caramel hit but leaves you wanting more. Maybe that's a good thing, I'm not sure, but I do feel a bit ripped off paying 75p for 34g of aerated chocolate and vegetable fat, even if it is tasty. Hopefully they'll do a larger version eventually and charge a bit less, like they did with the original Aero Mousse Bar. This one tastes far superior to the original and to be honest I don't know why they didn't bring it out first!

8 out of 10.

Cadbury Dairy Milk Big Taste Toffee Whole Nut


Recently Mondelez/Cadbury decided to copy their Milka range from Europe and bring out these "Big Taste" bars under the Cadbury brand. Why they can't just directly import the Milka versions is beyond me...I guess us Brits will only buy chocolate if it has the words Cadbury Dairy Milk slapped on it?!

As an FYI, the Milka "Toffee Ganznuss" version of this bar is currently available from B&M Bargain Stores for only £1.99 (check out the lovely One Treat At a Time's review), and also please do check out The Snack Warrior's review of all three Dairy Milk Big Taste bars.

I didn't fancy splashing out three quid per bar, and I'm allergic to gluten so I couldn't try the Oreo variety, so it was a toss-up between this or Triple Choc Sensation (click for Nibbles & Scribbles review). This sounded like the more luxury bar out of the two, so into my basket it went!


Sadly there's no hand-selfies this time (The Snacks Warrior will no doubt be crying!), but above you can see a few pieces from the bar. They're quite chunky and each block has a circular dome with the Cadbury logo printed on top...fancy!

I scoffed a hefty amount of the bar whilst I was out and about (I walk a lot, I needed the energy!) so there was only about a quarter of it left by the time I got home to take photos...oops!


There's no denying that this is a very moreish and tasty bar. The chocolate is...well...it's the super-sweet substandard stuff that passes for "Dairy Milk" these days, but it played second fiddle to the filling anyway. The filling is comprised of "toffee flavour filling (32%), caramel (10%) and hazelnuts (8%)". It was very creamy and sweet, with a lovely toffee flavour, whilst the gooey caramel brought some nice sticky texture and the hazelnuts were nicely toasted and crunchy. The combination works together very well although it's dangerously sweet in excess. This is definitely a bar to share, even I struggled to finish it off and I'm notorious for my sweet tooth!


Overall, this is a good bar in and of itself but it's a shame Cadbury have to use substandard Dairy Milk to sell it when the Milka version tastes soooo much better and costs less. If you've got a B&M bargains nearby, seek out the Milka Toffee Ganznuss instead, but if that's not an option you can currently find Dairy Milk Big Taste bars in larger Sainsbury's stores.

8 out of 10. 

Wednesday, 9 March 2016

Cadbury Dairy Milk Mixed Buttons (White & Milk Chocolate)


So it's round 2 of the Chocolate Button-Off...yesterday we had Milkybar Milkshake Mix Up, and today entering the ring we have...dun dun dun...good old Cadbury's! Yes, Cadbury have finally brought out a new product that the people actually wanted and have put Dairy Milk Buttons and White Chocolate Buttons in a sharing bag together...genius!


I'm not actually being sarcastic when I say this is genius, it genuinely is a good idea. Everyone loves Cadbury Buttons, they're so moreish and addictive despite the poorer quality Dairy Milk they use in them these days...mix them with White Chocolate Buttons and you've got a winner!

I found these in B&M Bargains for 99p, but they're also in Home Bargains and have started appearing in Poundland stores too. Seems like the discount market got first dibs on them!


There's 115g of buttons per bag and there seemed to be a good amount of both Dairy Milk and White Chocolate buttons, although (hand selfie alert - grab a fan Snacks Warrior!) in my pic above I seem to have grabbed more white than milk buttons.

Eating them together made for a delightful experience, there's the creamy comforting Dairy Milk, which despite being poorer quality than it used to be, was somehow much tastier in button form! Then there's the sweeter, creamier white buttons, which are lovely in and of themselves, reminding me of being a kid again. The two combined just go perfectly together, it's a massive sugar rush of course but it's oh so worth it.

Overall, these are a great snack and are sure to keep any kid or big kid happy. They're far better than the Milkybar Milkshake Mix Ups as the Dairy Milk Buttons are just so much more tastier. Oh Cadbury, you've surprised me...a new product that's worthwhile and tastes great!

8 out of 10. 

Tuesday, 8 March 2016

Milkybar Giant Buttons Milkshake Mix Up


Both Nestle and Cadbury have recently launched two opposing versions of mixed chocolate buttons, Cadbury with their Dairy Milk Mixed Buttons (review soon) and Nestle with this Milkybar Giant Buttons Milkshake Mix Up...but which shall reign supreme?!

Sadly it won't be Nestle! These Milkybar Giant Buttons Milkshake Mix Up contain a mixture of regular Milkybar Giant Buttons as well as Chocolate Milkshake flavoured buttons. Yes, that's right - not actual chocolate buttons but chocolate flavoured buttons.


As you can see in the pic above (hand selfie alert!) the chocolate milkshake buttons look a lot paler than real milk chocolate buttons, more of a malty kind of colour, and that's how they tasted really; malty, milky, and very sweet without much chocolatey flavour. I was very disappointed, but I suppose they are called Milkshake Mix Up so it's no surprise they're more milky than chocolatey.

I do think Nestle missed an opportunity here to make something rather special and unique: why not do a mix up of different milkshake flavours, like banana, strawberry, raspberry...? White chocolate and milk chocolate is hardly a "mix up" of milkshake flavours!

Overall, these are a disappointment and a bit of a gimmick, they could've been much better but I suppose kids will enjoy them at least. They certainly don't add anything new or worthwhile to the snacking table for the rest of us.

6 out of 10.