Tuesday, 31 March 2015

Cadbury Creme Egg Ice Cream Review

cadbury creme egg ice cream

What with Easter just around the corner, creme eggs have temporarily taken over the supermarket shelves at the moment. Everywhere you look there's the iconic eggs, in large or mini versions. But they also come in dessert form (Pots of Joy), Biscuits, Milkshakes (I tried one recently from Shakeaway  - amazing!) as well as...ice cream!

I spotted this Creme Egg ice cream in Tesco Express on special offer for £2, and at that price thought "why not, it's nearly Easter!" I've seen it in supermarkets before, so it's not really all that new, but for some reason it never really appealed to me. I didn't think the combination of sweet sugary creme egg fondant would add much to vanilla ice cream. But I was wrong!

cadbury creme egg ice cream

The ice cream is described as simply "Vanilla flavour ice cream with fondant sauce and Cadbury milk chocolate". The fondant is orange coloured, like the centre of a creme egg and there's large pockets of it embedded in the ice cream. In fact I was surprised by just how much of it there was...after diving in with a spoon I came across what looked like a small reservoir of orange goo!

cadbury creme egg ice cream

As you can see...lots of goo! To be honest I felt it was almost out of proportion with the bits of Cadbury chocolate embedded in the ice cream.

The ice cream itself has a basic sweet vanilla flavour, but the bits of Cadbury chocolate and sweet yellow fondant make it a real treat. It really does feel like Creme Egg in ice cream form, and delving into the yellow goo I felt like I'd found a prize...like the pot of gold at the end of the rainbow!

cadbury creme egg ice cream

Basically, if you're a fan of Cadbury Creme Eggs you need to try this ice cream this Easter (preferably with real Creme Egg on top!) It's a sweet, creamy, sickly treat...isn't that what Easter is all about these days?!

RATING: 8.5 out of 10. 

Price: £2 at Tesco Express.
Suitable for vegetarians?: Yes.
Allergens: Contains milk, may contain nuts.

Thursday, 19 March 2015

Pudology Chocolate Orange Pud (Gluten & Dairy Free)


Whilst in Holland & Barrett recently I spotted some reduced items. I'm always a sucker for reduced price food...I can't help it when I see a bargain! One of them was this Pudology dessert, made with coconut milk, dark chocolate, and containing zero dairy or gluten.


It's basically a mini chocolate orange mousse style dessert, although more intense and creamy thanks to the addition of coconut milk. In fact they call it a "ganache", which is something more often found as a cake filling.

Whatever it's supposed to be called, it tasted delicious! Very filling, rich and chocolatey as well as being creamy. The orange oil added a lovely zestiness, reminding me of Terry's Chocolate Orange, but richer and tastier. It didn't become sickly sweet and I found that one small pot was very satisfying.

Overall, if you're looking for a tasty gluten and dairy free dessert you can't go wrong with Pudology. I would highly recommend this and hope to try more from their range in the future!

RATING: 8.5 out of 10. 

Allergy Information: Made in a nut-free factory but cannot guarantee nut-free. Contains soya.

More info: www.pudology.com

Wednesday, 18 March 2015

Hotel Chocolat Pecan Egglets in Caramel Review


In a recent offer from Hotel Chocolat I tried Supermilk 65 Popcorn, Strawberry Egglets, and also these Pecan Egglets. They're described as "Caramel pecan praline sealed in a high cocoa caramel chocolate shell". The caramel chocolate contains 65% cocoa solids.


I was curious how the taste of pecans would work paired with such a high cocoa chocolate. Turns out it's a delicious combination! The chocolate was of course rich and flavoursome, with Hotel Chocolat's usual high quality standards. The caramel added a comforting sweetness, which blended well with the pecan praline. The praline itself was very nutty and intense, with a strong pecan flavour. In fact it was almost too overpowering! Still very delicious though.

Overall, if you're a fan of pecan nuts then definitely check these out this Easter. Be warned though: they're intensely nutty!

RATING: 8 out of 10.

Suitable for vegetarians, contains milk, nuts & soya.

Tuesday, 17 March 2015

Pulsin Almond & Raisin Raw Choc Brownie


Just a quick review for this Pulsin "Raisin & Almond Raw Choc Brownie", as I have no pictures of the brownie since I ate it in a dark cinema recently!

I bought this from Holland & Barrett as a "healthier" treat, along with some toasted coconut. It contains natural sweetness from dates, raisins and rice malt syrup, with added almonds and cashew nuts that give it a chewy texture.

It was very moist with a strong cocoa flavour, and reminded me somewhat of Naked bars - the texture is very similar - but perhaps more dense and chocolate-y. I wouldn't quite say it deserves the name "brownie" but it's certainly a tasty and nutritious alternative. They apparently count as "one of your five a day", which is handy!

Overall, I would recommend Pulsin brownies if you're trying to add nutrient density into your diet but also want a "treat". They might not replace "real" brownies but they're definitely a tasty and energizing snack.

RATING: 8 out of 10. 

Ingredients: Dates, cashews, almonds, raw cacao, raisins, brown rice bran, brown rice malt, concentrated fruit juice, cacao butter, rice starch, sea salt, green tea extract.

Nutrition (per 50g brownie): 205 Calories, 10.6g Fat, 23.4g Carbs, 18g Sugars, 4.9g Protein, 2.6g Fibre.

Gluten Free and made in a Gluten Free Kitchen, at a low temperature using renewable energy. Also vegan and dairy-free. For more info:

http://www.pulsin.co.uk/pulsin-snack-bars/almond-raisin-raw-choc-brownie

Monday, 16 March 2015

Willie's Cacao Ginger Lime Dark Chocolate Review


Waitrose recently did a special offer on all Willie's Cacao bars, and as a fan of unadulterated chocolates I just had to give them a try! I've tried the White "El Blanco" bar before but one I've never sampled was this Ginger Lime variety.

What I like about Willie's Cacao is that they don't use soya lecithin, and raw cane sugar instead of refined sugar. Considering the estrogenic effects of soya, as a man it's not something I really want in my chocolate.


Apologies for the above photo - it was late at night when I was eating this bar! Like all Willie's Cacao bars it comes in a square block and weighs 50g. It contains 70% cocoa solids, and is hand-crafted in Willie's factory based in England. Yay for locally produced chocolate! It contains 12% crystallized ginger which is pretty impressive, plus 0.1% lime oil.

It tasted delicious. The ginger flavour is very strong and fiery, giving a pleasant warmth that is nicely balanced with the tartness of the lime oil. The chocolate is rich and flavoursome, and unlike some dark chocolates there was no bitter aftertaste. The ginger was the main flavour on display though, and its sweet fiery flavour really took over. It worked perfectly with the dark chocolate.

Overall, this is a seriously tasty bar and one I would buy again, but probably only when on special offer. If you like ginger and dark chocolate - try this bar!

RATING: 8 out of 10. 

Allergy Information: May contain traces of nut.
Suitable for vegetarians?: Not stated on packaging.
Nutrition (per 50g bar): 251 Calories, 13.2g Fat, 28.1g Carbs, 21.3g Sugars.

Sunday, 15 March 2015

Cboze Pineapple, Apple & Cinnamon and Salted Almond Bars (99p Stores)


Whilst in 99p Stores over Christmas (god, that feels like a lifetime ago!) I came across these "Cboze" bars, produced by Kraft Foods. I've reviewed Cboze before, back in the early days of the blog and that variety was a Cherry flavoured fondant. See the review HERE. They seem to be a Bulgarian brand, and I must thank Katherine from Grocery Gems for helping me solve that mystery!

The flavours on offer were Salted Almond, Crunchy Corn, Pineapple and Apple & Cinnamon. At 2 bars for 99p I decided to try the whole range!


First up I tried Salted Almond. Curiously, it didn't taste very "almondy" or even salty! The flavour was muted and tame, with the almond giving a little crunch here and there but nothing outstanding...it tasted a little stale, in fact.


Next I dived right into the Pineapple flavour...such a rarity in chocolate! The bar contained a milk cream filling with a layer of gooey pineapple "jam" oozing above it. It was very fruity and with a strong pineapple flavour. Very enjoyable - I would definitely buy this bar again!


The Apple & Cinnamon variety contained a layer of apple & cinnamon jam above a layer of plain cream filling. The flavour was a little more subdued than the pineapple, but it was definitely there and gave a nice fruity apple tang. The cream layer toned down the flavour a little, making it more creamy than tart. I could just about detect a hint of cinnamon in there. Overall this was a very moreish bar, and very easy to eat!

I didn't get a picture of the Crunchy Corn variety unfortunately...but I can safely say that it was the tastiest of the lot! (hence no pictures!). If you spot one it's definitely worth a try!

Overall, although Cboze chocolates can be a little hit-or-miss in terms of quality, they excel at unique fillings and if you happen to spot any in pound stores/local market stalls etc., they're definitely worth a try!

Have you tried Bulgarian brand Cboze? If so let me know your thoughts in the comments!

Friday, 13 March 2015

Kinder Hazelnut Mini Eggs Review


Whilst in Tesco recently I fancied a splurge on Easter Eggs. As well as classic Creme Eggs (which taste the same as always to me, despite the recipe change), I got a pack of Kinder Mini Eggs as part of a 3 for £1 deal. I didn't pay attention to what they were, assuming they'd be mini versions of Kinder eggs with a creamy filling. I didn't realize they were mini versions of Kinder Schoko Bon Milky Bites - one of the most amazing snacks ever!

There were 7 small eggs in the pack, all individually foil-wrapped.


There's not much I can say about the taste other than they were DELICIOUS! Just like regular Schoko-Bons, the filling was intensely creamy and with a delicious buttery hazelnut flavour. It tasted almost like white chocolate but less sickly sweet, and a lot nicer. The small bits of hazelnut added a lovely savoury crunch, whilst the milk chocolate provided a nice contrast of cocoa. There were just enough eggs in the bag to give a sweet fix without overdoing it.

Overall, I would highly recommend these Kinder Mini Eggs, they're a perfect little Easter treat!

RATING: 8.5 out of 10.

Thursday, 12 March 2015

Hotel Chocolat Strawberry Easter Egglets Review


I recently tried a few new items from Hotel Chocolat's Selector range, and one of them was these Strawberry Egglets. They're new for Easter, but I'm not sure if they've been out in previous years as I've never seen them before.

Theyre described as "A burst of natural strawberry in creamy white chocolate" and "Strawberry ganache sealed in a white chocolate shell". They're £3.75 per pack, or you can get a price reduction when you buy three items from Hotel Chocolat's Selector range.


Although I was a little disappointed with the Supermilk Popcorn bar I bought as part of the offer, these egglets more than made up for any disappointment - they were delicious!

The white chocolate as ever was very creamy and great quality - I always find Hotel Chocolat excel when it comes ti white chocolate, it's just so much smoother than most commercial brands. It's heaven paired with strawberry - the ganache is extremely fruity and refreshing, and definitely not sickly sweet like the strawberry creams in Roses or Quality Street. A winning combination, and surprisingly satisfying!


Overall, these Strawberry Egglets are...er... eggcellent (sorry, I had to!) and showcase what Hotel Chocolat are best at. I urge my readers to forfeit Cadbury Mini Eggs this Easter and invest in a pack of these...your tastebuds will thank you!

RATING: 8.5 out of 10. 

Price: £3.75 or 3 Selector items for £9.45, with a saving of £1.80.
Suitable for vegetarians?: Yes.
Allergy Information: Contains milk & soya. May contain nut traces.

Tuesday, 10 March 2015

Green & Black's THIN Salted Caramel Milk Chocolate


When I first heard about these new "THIN" bars from Green & Blacks/Mondelez I had to laugh..."how are they going to sell thinner chocolate?!", I scoffed. Turns out I shouldn't have been so skeptical...this is seriously delicious chocolate and nicer than any G&B bar I've had before. They're a bit late jumping on the "salted caramel" trend, but better late than never I guess!

The bar is described as "Organic milk chocolate with salted caramel pieces". The salt is apparently anglesey sea salt, and the chocolate contains an impressive 37% cocoa solids.


The bar was indeed "thin", although no more than a standard Lindt bar so I'm not sure why G&B are playing it up so much. It tasted amazing though!


The caramel pieces were very reminiscent of Daim; extremely crunchy and moreish, with an added lick of salt. The chocolate is richer than an average milk chocolate thanks to the higher cocoa percentage. It went perfectly with the caramel pieces and made for an extremely moreish combination.

Overall, this is a fantastic bar from Green & Blacks and one I would highly recommend. If you enjoy Daim bars, salted caramel or crunchy butterscotch chocolates, this is a must try!

RATING: 8 out of 10. 

Price: £1.69 at Waitrose. Also available at Tesco.
Suitable for vegetarians?: Yes.
Allergy Information: Contains milk & soya. May contain nuts. 
Nutrition (per 2 pieces/25g): 135 Calories, 8.4g Fat, 13g Carbs, 12.5g Sugars.

Monday, 9 March 2015

Revels Creamy Toffee Milkshake Review


Mars UK have merged a lot of their confectionery brands into milkshakes over the last year or so, most notably Skittles (which I reviewed here), but also Bounty, Snickers, and now Revels too! Revels is an odd choice since there is no "distinctive" Revels variety, and for this milkshake they've chosen "The Toffee one", which is even odder since they already do a "Mars Caramel" milkshake. Do we really need two different toffee/caramel style shakes from the same company?


Going by the taste of this I would say the answer is "No!". This shake really doesn't add anything new to the category at all, it's simply a very basic sweet toffee milkshake. It wasn't particularly flavoursome or great quality, and definitely not as good as Frijj milkshakes.

Overall, I can't recommend this, it just seems pointless when there's so many other better milk drinks out there. Maybe they should have done a "salted caramel" variety...if done properly it could taste amazing!

RATING: 6.5 out of 10. 

Price: £1.20 at Nisa stores.
Suitable for vegetarians?: Yes.
Allergy Information: Contains milk (!)

Sunday, 8 March 2015

Hotel Chocolat Supermilk 65 Popcorn Review


Recently, I treated myself to some of the latest products in Hotel Chocolat's selector range. I'm always overwhelmed by the sheer of amount of varieties and never know what to choose....I usuaslly want to try everything! How one is supposed to pick just three items (for the special offer) is beyond me. Eventually I went for some of their Easter Egglets as well as this Supermilk Popcorn.

Supermilk is Hotel Chocolat's new "Intense milk chocolate" which they've created using 65% cocoa solids blended with milk powder. It's lower in sugar than a 70% dark chocolate but retains the creaminess of a good quality milk chocolate. Very impressive!

The bar is described as "Popcorn and a pinch of sea salt blended into our most intense milk chocolate" and costs £3.75 individually, but there's a price reduction when you buy three "selector" items which saves £1.80 in total.


The slab was fairly thick, with a strong popcorn and rich chocolate aroma. The popcorn is in small pieces embedded within the slab.

Unfortunately, I wasn't too struck on the taste. The chocolate itself was very tasty and rich, and excellent quality. Nothing wrong with it at all. The problem was that the popcorn didn't work with it very well...it tasted plain and boring, and too savoury to shine through the flavours of the rich chocolate. The ingredients list it as "plain popcorn" which I think is where the problem lies - if it were sweet, or toffee coated, then perhaps it might have worked, but as it is it's too savoury and flavourless. I mean who likes plain popcorn? Yes there's a pinch of sea salt, but it's mixed into the chocolate and not with the popcorn.

Overall, this isn't a bad quality chocolate but the pairing is a bit off and I think it would benefit from sweet or toffee popcorn instead, perhaps paired with white or caramel milk chocolate. I can highly recommend HC's "Supermilk" chocolate in general though...they've expanded the range quite a bit and many of the other variations are excellent!

RATING: 7 out of 10.

Price: £3.75 or three Selector products for £9.45.
Suitable for vegetarians?: Yes.
Allergy Information: Contains milk, soya. May contain nut traces. Gluten Free.

Thursday, 5 March 2015

Galaxy Caramel Collection Salted Caramel Review

galaxy caramel collection salted caramel

I've gone a bit mad reviewing new products this week I must admit - there's been so many brought out recently that it's hard to keep track! One that I've been on the lookout for ever since it was announced is this new Salted Caramel Galaxy variety, which I found in WH Smith recently for £1. Bargain!

galaxy caramel collection salted caramel

The bar is described as simply "Milk chocolate with a salted caramel filling". Obviously Mars are trying to capitalize on the salted caramel trend that is so last year....but nevertheless, we can never have enough salted caramel products in my opinion!


Unfortunately I can't say I was as impressed with this chocolate as I expected to be. Don't get me wrong the caramel is very tasty, but I couldn't really detect the salt in there...it just tasted like regular Galaxy Caramel with perhaps a slightly salty edge. Not really enough to justify the name. The actual chocolate was of course very creamy and sweet, as Galaxy is well-known for.

Overall, this is definitely a tasty bar of chocolate, but it doesn't really give much of a true salted caramel taste. It's not something I would buy when looking for a salted caramel fix - there's better options out there.

RATING: 7.5 out of 10. 

Price: £1 at WH Smith.
Suitable for vegetarians?: Not stated.
Allergy Information: Contains milk, soya. May contain nuts & wheat.
Nutrition (per 100g): 497 Calories, 25.7g Fat, 60.3g Carbs, 55.7g Sugars.

Are you a fan of salted caramel chocolate? Have you tried this bar? Let me know your thoughts in the comments!

NEW! Cadbury Dairy Milk Oat Crunch Review

cadbury dairy milk oat crunch

Cadbury's PR recently offered to send me some of their new Oat Crunch bars to sample, and how could I say no to that?! The bars arrived promptly, but bizarrely when I opened the box they were all dusty and coated in oats. At first I thought one of the bars must have got damaged in transit, but no, those jokers at Cadbury had put actual oats in the box. I suppose it beats bubble wrap!

"Give elevenses a light makeover with new Cadbury Dairy Milk Oat Crunch and unwrap joy in your mid morning break. A perfect accompaniment to any cuppa, this mini oat filled bar is set to give you a fresh, wholesome boost taking you right through to lunchtime" - Cadbury Press Release. 

The bars weigh 30g, containing 150 Calories and are described as "Milk chocolate with 2 biscuits sprinkled with oat flakes". They're similar in design to the Dairy Milk with Ritz and LU Cookies, as well as Bahlsen Pick Up. Opening the wrapper, I was met with a very strong oaty biscuit aroma - I couldn't wait to tuck in! 

cadbury dairy milk oat crunch

The bar can be split down the middle, making it ideal for sharing (according to the press release) but let's be honest, who is really going to share this?! 

cadbury dairy milk oat crunch

I split the bar in half anyway, so you can see the interior. Then promptly ate both pieces! 

cadbury dairy milk oat crunch

It tasted very delicious; the biscuit had a lovely malty flavour which was complimented nicely with the oats, making it feel a tad more wholesome. The biscuit wasn't overly sweet but had a nice balance of sweet and savoury flavours. The Dairy Milk filling added most of the sweetness, making it very comforting and indulgent.

Overall, this is a nice addition to the Dairy Milk range and very moreish. I can't see anyone sharing one of these though...more like scoffing several in one go! 

RATING: 8 out of 10. 

Price: 58p RRP (30g bars), £1.49 for 3-bar multipacks. 
Suitable for vegetarians?: Yes. 
Allergy Information: Contains wheat, gluten, milk, soya. May contain egg. 
Nutrition (per 30g bar): 150 Calories, 7.4g Fat, 18.5g Carbs, 12.5g Sugars. 

*Product provided for honest review

Wednesday, 4 March 2015

Cadbury Dairy Milk Freddo Sprinkles (Easter 2015) Review


There hasn't been much new to tempt me into blogging about Easter this year...but one product that caught my eye was Freddo Sprinkles. This has been brought out to replace the Dairy Milk Caramel Easter Bunnies (which were a favourite of mine over the last few years)...but apparently, they've fallen out of favour due to the success of their rival the Malteaster Bunny!

After reading reviews of Freddo Spinkles by fellow bloggers I wasn't expecting a lot from this, but nevertheless the inclusion of coloured sprinkles really excited me...I'm just a big kid at heart!


I paid 25p for one of these at Sainsbury's Express, which is a lot when you consider they were 10p back in the day. "What day?!", I hear you ask. Well it really wasn't that long ago folks! ;) Anyway, with the rising price of Freddos at least we're getting some new varieties.


The chocolate is classic Dairy Milk with coloured sugar strands added in, the kind you usually find on cupcakes. I wasn't expecting much taste-wise, but they had a rather pleasant, almost floral flavour, and gave a nice bit of crunch to the chocolate. The overall taste was comforting and not too bad at all.

Granted this Freddo could've been a bit more exciting...maybe some strawberry or other fruit flavours would have livened it up a bit, but I still found it more interesting than a regular plain Freddo. Overall, this is a decent little Easter novelty!

RATING: 7.5 out of 10. 

Price: 25p.
Suitable for vegetarians?: Yes.
Allergy Information: Contains dairy.


Have you tried Freddo Sprinkles? If so what did you think? 

Tuesday, 3 March 2015

Cadbury Dairy Milk Marvellous Ice Creams: Jelly Popping Candy


Cadbury have recently introduced their new brand "Marvellous Ice Creams" to the frozen food category, which comes in 4 varieties: Zingy Raspberry Choc Brownie, Salted Caramel & Sour Cherry, Fairground Candy Crunch, and this one - Jelly Popping Candy.

Although I was expecting to enjoy Fairground Candy Crunch the most, I actually ended up liking this one a lot more. The tastes and textures were spot on!


It's described as "Vanilla and chocolate flavour ice creams swirled with milk chocolate, sugar coated jelly pieces, fat coated popping candy pieces and candy coated milk chocolate pieces". Although some of those might sound a little odd or plain, they work together perfectly!


As my readers now know (to much amusement, no doubt!) I carry mini cutlery with me wherever I go. What can I say, I like to be prepared in case of finding tasty new snacks!

Like the Fairground Candy Crunch the ice creams were both swirled together with the added goodies mixed in. It's not quite as colourful as the Fairground variety but don't let that fool you...it's just as tasty!


The ice creams were very creamy, maybe not as much as Ben & Jerry's or Haagen Dazs but they were still very good. It was the jelly pieces and popping candy that really livened up the taste, though...the jelly pieces were fruity with a lovely chewy texture, whilst the popping candy brought a nice crackling crunch. It wasn't too overwhelming, and I think those who don't usually like popping candy might even enjoy this.

Solid Dairy Milk swirl
As with the Fairground variety, there was a large swirl of solid Dairy Milk at the centre of the tub. At first I was a bit confused...I wasn't sure what to do since it proved difficult to chip bits off. I ended up leaving it until last and eating it as a solid lump, which was actually very delicious! It seemed a little more creamy than regular Dairy Milk, so presumably contained added fat or something to prevent it freezing rock solid.

Overall, this is my favourite of the two "Marvellous Ice Creams" I've tried so far, but both are excellent and I'm sure Fairground Candy Crunch will be extremely popular. I'm not so interested in the other flavours, but will probably end up trying them at some point no doubt!

Cadbury Marvellous Ice Creams are currently on offer at £2.49 at Asda, so stock up while you can!

RATING: 8.5 out of 10.

Price: £2.49 at Asda (introductory offer).
Suitable for vegetarians?: Yes!
Allergy Information: Contains milk, may contain nuts.
Nutrition (per 100ml): 217 Calories, 10.3g Fat, 28.2g Carbs, 22.9g Sugars.

Monday, 2 March 2015

Cadbury Dairy Milk Marvellous Ice Creams: Fairground Candy Crunch


Recently, Cadbury announced the launch of their new "Marvellous Ice Creams" range, which includes 4 flavours: Zingy Raspberry Choc Brownie, Fairground Candy Crunch, Jelly Popping Candy and Salted Caramel & Sour Cherry. So far I've tried two of the flavours and my first review is for Fairground Candy Crunch.

Fairground Candy Crunch is an evocative name, it conjured up images of candyfloss and helter skelters in my mind, so I was very excited to try this. I know...I'm such a sucker for marketing! The ice cream is described as "Candyfloss and chocolate flavour ice creams, swirled with milk chocolate, pink sugar crunch, sugar coated jelly pieces and mini marshmallows".


Opening the tub reveled the two ice creams swirled together, with plenty of pink sugar sprinkles and jelly pieces embedded within.


The taste was interesting. The candyfloss ice cream had a strong candyfloss flavour - very sweet and almost floral. The chocolate ice cream was rather plain in comparison, but nice enough. The pink sugar crunch added a nice...er...crunch, and the jelly pieces added a fruity chewiness. The mini marshmallows were pleasant but I didn't think they worked so well with the cold ice cream.

Solid Dairy Milk "swirl"
The most interesting part of this ice cream was the swirl of chocolate...it was actually solid Dairy Milk in a kind of "lump" in the centre of the tub, and difficult to eat since it was frozen. I waited until most of the ice cream had melted before attempting to chip bits off. It was very tasty - regular Dairy Milk chocolate with its distinctive, comforting flavour.

Overall, although not perfect this was still a very tasty and unique ice cream from Cadbury's. It offers something genuinely different to similar ice creams from Ben and Jerry's, and although it's not as good in quality, it will please those who like different tastes and texture in one ice cream.

Stay tuned for a review of the Jelly Popping Candy variety soon...!

RATING: 7.5 out of 10. 

Price: £2.99 in local newsagent.
Suitable for vegetarians?: No - contains gelatine.
Allergy Information: Contains milk, may contain nuts.
Nutrition (per 100ml): 210 Calories, 9.1g Fat, 29.2g Carbs, 24.7g Sugars.

Sunday, 1 March 2015

Nestlé Rolo Dark Chocolate Review


Nestlé UK have been quietly releasing new variations of their classic products over the last year or so...we've had Toffee Crisp in Sharing Block format, a new Milkybar with added Cookies, White Aero's, Toffee Kitkats, Caramel Kitkats, Honeycomb Toffee Crisps, and now these...Dark Rolos.

Although they're called "Dark", they contain only 45% cocoa solids, which I guess is about as "dark" as a mass produced chocolate like this is going to get.


To be honest, if I was given these in a blind taste test I don't think I would have been able to tell they were dark chocolate. They tasted pretty similar to regular Rolos, although maybe a tad less milky. They were still extremely sweet and moreish, with the classic sweet toffee centres making me reach for one too many. Before I knew it half the bag had gone....oops!

Overall, although these are not truly dark chocolate and won't impress chocolate conoissours, they're a very moreish snack and presumably less sugary than regular Rolos, so if you're concerned with sugar intake I suppose these have a place in the chocolate world. I doubt they will stick around, but kudos to Nestlé for trying new variations. I think white chocolate Rolos would've been a better option though to be honest!

RATING: 7 out of 10. 

Price: £1.50 at Sainsbury's.
Suitable for vegetarians?: Yes.
Allergy Information: Contains milk, may contain traces of wheat gluten.
Nutrition (5 sweets): 126 Calories, 5.8g Fat, 17.1g Carbs, 14.2g Sugars.