Wednesday, 28 May 2014

Cadbury Strawberry & Peppermint Freddo's Review


Last Christmas Cadbury UK chose to release the very boring "Freddo Popping Candy" as a limited edition. Why they chose this flavour I will never know, especially when countries like Australia get lots of interesting Freddo varieties all year round - flavours like Strawberry, Mint, Hundreds & Thousands, Rice Crisps, Crunchie, Dream White Chocolate, Pineapple, Milky Top, etc!

Luckily Strawberry and Mint Freddos are now available in the UK thanks to the fantastic Monster Sweets, for a very reasonable 70p. Hurrah! (plus they sell the awesome Aussie biscuits Tim Tams!) Below are my thoughts on each flavour...

Freddo Peppermint:

This Freddo looks like any other Freddo on the outside... until you cut him open to reveal his gooey green froggy innards!


The peppermint filling oozed out and was very green indeed, with a strong minty aroma. Taste-wise it was pleasantly minty and of course very sweet. Combined with the milk chocolate it went really well, although I have to say the chocolate has a slightly different taste to UK Dairy Milk. It's not bad, just...different. Overall I enjoyed the combination and thought this made for a lovely change from a regular Freddo.


RATING: 7 out of 10.

Freddo Strawberry:

The strawberry variety was my favourite of the two since I've always been partial to strawberry cream chocolates. The filling has a nice sweet strawberry flavour, kind of similar to the Strawberry Dreams from Cadbury Roses. It's very sweet but it works really well with the milk chocolate, which again is Australia's version of Dairy Milk. Overall, this is a lovely treat and makes a welcome change from a regular Freddo!


RATING: 8 out of 10.

Unfortunately these Freddos aren't available from Cadbury UK (boo! hiss!) but Monster Sweets are selling them for a very reasonable 70p - check them out HERE!

*Products sent for an honest review and all opinions expressed are my own. 

Monday, 26 May 2014

Ritter Sport Baiser Nuss (Meringue Nuts) Review

ritter sport baiser nuss meringue nuts

Many thanks to Monster Sweets for sending me this new bar from Ritter Sports Spring 2014 range to review. It's called "Baiser Nuss" ("Meringue Nuts" in English) and contains roasted hazelnuts and meringue pieces - a different but tasty take on hazelnut chocolate!

ritter sport baiser nuss meringue nuts

Removing the wrapper revealed a deliciously rich aroma with some strong woody hazelnut notes. It smelled very inviting indeed!

ritter sport baiser nuss meringue nuts

Taking a bite I was first met with the creamy Ritter Sport chocolate. As always it was very rich with a nice level of milkiness, and better quality than the average UK milk chocolate bar. It contains 30% cocoa solids which explains the high quality. The hazelnuts were fresh and crunchy, adding a lovely woody, savoury taste. The meringue pieces were very sweet but worked well with the hazelnuts. It was all very moreish and crunchy and made me think of Ferrero Rocher in bar form!

Overall this is yet another delicious variety from Ritter Sport. It's an unusual one since meringue isn't often used in chocolate, but works really well contrasted with the savoury hazelnuts.

RATING: 8 out of 10.

Available from MonsterSweets.co.uk

*Product sent for an honest review and all opinions expressed are my own. 

Sunday, 25 May 2014

Fizzy Bubblegum Bottles Blue & White Chocolate Bar - Review


I was very excited to find this bar on a local market stall recently. I'm a big fan of bubblegum cola bottles, they're perhaps even nicer than classic cola bottles, so a bar based on them sounded like a great idea! The cola bottles are embedded in a slab of half white and half blue coloured chocolate, which looks really cool - I don't think I've ever seen blue chocolate before!


As snazzy as the bar looked, I wasn't all that excited once I sniffed it. I always mention the smell of chocolate in my reviews and with good reason - you can often tell a good chocolate by its aroma! This one smelled of...well, rotten milk.


I broke off a piece with a bit of cola bottle stuck to it and took a bite. The cola bottle was just as nice as I remember - sour and tangy with an unmistakable bubblegum flavour. The chocolate unfortunately was pretty bad - it was extremely cheap tasting and seemed rather stale, like the milk had gone off or something. It was horrible...infact I needed a drink of water to take away the taste it was so bad! The blue chocolate didn't taste any different from the white, it was just coloured blue.


Overall, this bar was very underwhelming. I had very high hopes because the idea of a chocolate bar based on bubblegum cola bottles sounded so cool! And it looks pretty cool too with its blue and white chocolate. Sadly the result was very disappointing, probably due to being made by an unknown company ("Sweet Shop Choc's" by Kingsway) producing chocolate only fit for discount stores.

RATING: 4 out of 10. 

Price: 69p at local market. Also seen them in TK Maxx.

Saturday, 24 May 2014

Milka Alpine Milk Yoghurt Review (Polish version)


I had resigned myself to never being able to enjoy Polish Milka bars; they're usually too sweet or artificial tasting. But again I decided to give one of their bars a go whilst browsing my local import store. I've never really tried many chocolates containing yogurt except the Ritter Sport Olympia, so thought I would take a chance on this one. I'm glad I did, because it turned out to be one of the nicer Polish Milka bars I've tried in a while.


In a nutshell, the yoghurt filling is nicely creamy with a pleasant yoghurty tang, but not overpoweringly so. It blends well with the sweet alpine milk chocolate and makes this a simple yet creamy tasting chocolate bar.

Overall, nothing groundbreaking, but it's a simple combination that works and if you like the tanginess of yoghurt with chocolate then I'd recommend giving this a try! They're available in most Polish stores.

RATING: 7.5 out of 10. 

Wednesday, 21 May 2014

Nestlé Kitkat Chunky Orange (Limited Edition) Review

kitkat chunky orange limited edition

When Nestlé announced the launch of this new Kitkat Chunky flavour my reaction was a bit "meh" since they've already done it before, plus it exists in a small finger multipack format. However I've come round to the idea after realizing there's not a lot of orange chocolate bars on the market, aside from Terry's Chocolate Orange. It's always nice to have extra variety when you're a fan of orangey chocolate!

kitkat chunky orange limited edition

This bar combines the much-loved thick crispy wafer with a sweet orange flavoured milk chocolate. It's split into three portions like all Kikat Chunky's, which kind of spoils the aesthetic in my opinion. When Kitkat Chunky was first launched in the 90's it was just one long wafer finger, hence the name "Chunky". There was none of this "split into portions" nonsense that we have now! I supposed Nestlé had to do this to comply with some silly food regulations so I'll let them off.

kitkat chunky orange limited edition

Taste-wise it was very nice indeed. The orangey chocolate was rather light and refreshing, which made a nice change for me because I find Terry's Chocolate Oranges a bit sickly and overpowering these days. I much preferred it. It's still very sweet; of course, since it's Nestlé chocolate, but it works. The wafer was as crunchy and delicious as ever, proving that nothing beats Kitkat when it comes to wafer bars.

Overall I thought this was a tasty limited edition that makes a pleasant change from a regular Kitkat Chunky. I do think Nestlé could have been a bit more adventurous and tried a different flavour though - something like strawberry, lemon or passionfruit would be a lot more interesting!

RATING: 7 out of 10. 

Price: 60p at Sainsbury's Local.
Suitable for vegetarians?: Yes.
Allergy Information: Contains wheat, gluten, milk, soya.
Nutrition (per bar): 245 Calories, 12.1g Fat, 30.8g Carbs, 25.6g Sugar.

Sunday, 18 May 2014

Fini Chicle Camel Balls & Zed Pus Balls: Rude Bubble Gum Review!


Oh, the controversy...to think, these sweets have been sold to children! Yes, according to The Mirror this rude bubble gum caused outrage with a mother when her daughter innocently bought "Camel Balls" from a local newsagent.

Of course we all know why these are amusing so I really needn't explain anything. But... what do camel balls taste like? (something I'm sure we've all wondered at some point?!)

Opening the wrapper revealed...


...a single, brown camel ball that looked a bit like a mini egg. Cutting it in half (ouch!) revealed...


...gooey red liquid!

Unfortunately the bubble gum wasn't all that tasty, and certainly won't be converting me to the delights of camel balls any time soon! It tasted slightly cheap and had an odd coconut flavour, with the red filling tasting sweet but of very little.

Overall though, these are an interesting novelty and worth buying for the rude wrapper! I'm constantly seeing wrappers for these on the pavements where I live, so presumably they must be popular.

RATING: 6.5 out of 10.

Pus Balls:

More disgusting than rude, these Pus Balls were right next to the Camel Balls so I had to give them a try too. They're a bit harder and chewier than the Camel Balls and are pink coloured.


Cutting one open revealed a yellowish "pus" filling...yuck!


It tasted a little more pleasant than the Camel Balls, with a slight fruity flavour. The liquid filling was sweet but didn't taste of much. These are made by a company called Zed Candy, based in the USA.

Overall, I think these are a bit pointless in a world where Camel Balls exist!

RATING: 6.5 out of 10.

Have you tried Camel Balls or Pus Balls? If so what did you think? Are they too rude for children?

Tuesday, 6 May 2014

Spotted In Shops! - Ritz Breaks, New Müller Corners, Chicken & Herb Pringles, One Direction Biscuits, etc...

A few more new products I've seen whilst out shopping recently...

Cadbury Crunchie Minis Ice Creams

Contains Crunchie flavour ice cream with a Crunchie chocolate coating - available at Asda and other supermarkets.

Ritz Breaks Rosemary & Olive Oil

New Ritz crackers in a handy "breaks" format. Available at Asda.

Müller Corner Apple & Pear - Voted by You

New "voted by you" apple & pear flavour Müller Corner. Available at Asda.

Müller Corner Dessert Inspired Banoffee Pie Yogurt

And a "dessert inspired" banoffee pie Müller Corner - because you can never have enough banoffee pie variations! Also at Asda.

Müller Corner Greek Style Mango & Passionfruit


Completing the trio of new Müller Corners is this Greek Style Mango & Passionfruit flavour. Also at Asda.

Nestlé Ski Smooth Coconut Yogurt - Limited Edition

Limited edition low fat Ski coconut flavour yogurts, also at Asda.

Nestlé Aero Orange & Choc Bubbly Mousse - Limited Edition

A limited edition chocolate and orange Aero mousse - available from most supermarkets. And Asda ;)

Nestlé Vanilla Yogurt with mini Aero Bubbles

This is simply a vanilla yogurt with a side portion of mini Aero Bubbles. How exciting...not! I saw these at...you've guessed it...Asda!

NEW Pringles Roast Chicken & Herbs Flavour

I thought Pringles already did a chicken flavour but apparently not as these are labelled "new". According to the box "you don't just eat 'em'". I'm not sure what else you're supposed to do with them exactly - use them as earrings?!

Early Times Fire Eater Hot Cinnamon Liquer

There was a whole shelf of this cinnamon liquer at Asda, so they must expecting it to be popular. I'm a fan of cinnamon but not sure if I fancy it in liquer form. If you've tried this please let me know your thoughts!

Sweet Shop Choc's Chocolate Bar with Fizzy Pink & Blue Cola Bottles

Cola bottles are ace...especially the pink and blue ones, so this chocolate bar looks amazing! Spotted in TK Maxx.

Super Mario, Zelda and Donkey Kong Klik Candy Dispensers                                             

Fans of Mario, Zelda and Donkey Kong will love these! As a longtime Super Mario fan I'll be going for the Mario version. Available at Asda.

 Multi Millions Chewy Sweets

Millions aren't new but this Multi Millions bumper pack is. It contains various different Millions flavours, including apple! Spotted in B&M. 

One Direction Mini Biscuits

Oh dear...when will it end?! One Direction mini biscuits half covered with milk chocolate. Spotted in Poundland. 

Jelly Belly Hello Kitty Jelly Beans

These jelly beans come in 5 different flavours, all of which appear to be various shades of pink and red. Nice if you're a fan of Hello Kitty. Spotted in TK Maxx.

Bahlsen X-tra Tasty Caramel Biscuit Sticks

I'm not sure if these are a Bahlsen take on Twix, but they look very similar. Having tried other Bahlsen products recently I bet they're delicious - if you've tried these let me know in the comments! These are available at Poundland, but I've also seen them in Waitrose. I know where I'll be buying them from!

The Mallow Tree Marshmallow Mushrooms

A marshmallow version of the classic coconut mushrooms sweets. These look amazing! Spotted in TK Maxx.

The Mallow Tree Orange Marshmallows

Orange shaped and flavoured marshmallows. These look so cute! Also at TK Maxx.

The Mallow Tree Strawberry Marshmallows

And a strawberry version!

The Mallow Tree Lemon Marshmallows

Plus a lemon version!

Chocolate iPhone

Last but not least, I spotted this iPhone shaped chocolate slab in TK Maxx. Made in Germany.

That's all for this week's Spotted In Shops - if you've seen any cool new products please do get in touch via twitter/email, and I'll be happy to give you a mention in a future edition!

Monday, 5 May 2014

Cadbury Roses Pots of Joy Strawberry Dream Review


Whilst in Morrisons over the weekend I spotted these new Cadbury Roses Pots of Joy. I couldn't quite believe it - this is the first time Cadbury have used the Strawberry Dream from Roses in a different product! They're described as "A layer of smooth & creamy dessert with melted Cadbury milk chocolate and a layer of Strawberry flavour fondant". The pack contained 2 pots with foil lids.


Peeling the lid off one revealed an upper chocolate layer with a larger amount of strawberry fondant below:


The chocolate layer tasted similar to Dairy Milk Pots of Joy - very creamy and smooth, but perhaps a tad sweeter. The fondant layer had a strong strawberry flavour which replicated the filling from Roses Strawberry Dream very well - meaning it's very sweet! It also reminded me of the Dairy Milk Strawberries & Creme bars from last Summer - slightly yogurty. The combination was very nice and made for a lovely sweet treat, although it was a bit of a sugar rush all at once. The pots are quite small which is probably a good thing in this case!


Overall, these Roses Pots of Joy are a nice limited edition and I'm sure fans of Strawberry Dreams will enjoy them. They're a bit too sweet for me, although I certainly wouldn't say no if offered one again!

RATING: 7 out of 10.

Price: 64p for 2 pots at Morrisons (Special Offer).
Suitable for vegetarians?: No.
Allergy Information: Contains milk, may contain nuts.
Nutrition (per pot): 160 Calories, 7.3g Fat, 21.3g Carbs, 18.9g Sugar.

Have you tried Roses Strawberry Dream Pots of Joy? If so what did you think? 

Sunday, 4 May 2014

Cadbury Dairy Milk Marvellous Mix-Ups Cherry Cola Fizz Dessert (Limited Edition) - Review


I've been on the lookout for the new Dairy Milk Marvellous Mix-Ups desserts for ages so was glad to finally track one down in Sainsbury's this weekend. Oddly, I couldn't find the "fruity jelly popping candy" variety that was apparently launched last month.

The "mix-up" consists of "smooth and creamy dessert made with melted Cadbury Milk Chocolate, with a side of cherry flavour candy cereal balls, fizzy cola flavour jellies & milk chocolate coated cereal clusters". A very unique combination indeed!


Peeling off the lid revealed the chocolate dessert and sweets mixture in separate sections, rather like a Müller Corner:


The sweets mixture had a pleasant cherry aroma, with a slight cola tang in there too. I tipped it into the chocolate dessert as instructed.


Mixing it with the dessert resulted in a lumpy, chocolatey mass that didn't look all that appetizing, to be honest!


The dessert tasted sweet and creamy and pretty much the same as Dairy Milk Pots of Joy. Combined with the sweets mixture it all tasted a bit odd, to say the least. The cola jellies and cherry cereal added a nice fruity tang, but they were a little artificial tasting and didn't really work with the chocolate. The clusters were tasty enough, and brought a nice crunch to the dessert. I do think this is an interesting idea from Cadbury, and there's certainly no other desserts like this on the market, but somehow it didn't quite work.

Overall, I think it's great that Cadbury are trying new things with the Marvellous Creations range, and they've come up with some interesting stuff so far, but this isn't for me. I would've preferred coconut, cherries and nuts instead of the sweets. This is one for the kids I think!

RATING: 7 out of 10.

Price: 78p a pot at Sainsbury's.
Suitable for vegetarians?: No. 
Allergy Information: Contains wheat, gluten, milk & soya. May contain nuts.
Nutrition (per pot): 240 Calories, 11.3g Fat, 30g Carbs, 25.8g Sugars.

Have you tried this dessert? If so what did you think of the combination?